PhD CALL FOR APPLICATIONS for 2 PhD positions in the Institute of Microbiology, Bioenergies and Biotechnology (IM2B) of Aix-Marseille Université

France
Posted 2 years ago
  • RESEARCH FIELD(S)1

Natural Sciences – Biology, Chemistry

  • JOB DESCRIPTION 

This Institute brings together the largest French network of world-class molecular microbiologists. It aims to explore the diversity and functioning of the microbial world, at the molecular, cellular and ecosystem levels, or through its close association with other organisms (plants, microbiota, etc.), with a view to developing innovative biotechnological solutions in the fields of bioenergies, environment and health.

The five PhD projects described below are eligible for funding under this call for applications. They are interdisciplinary projects based on inter-laboratory collaborations.

For each of the projects, the co-supervisors will select one applicant who will be interviewed by a jury. The audition will be held in English or in French, the 3rd of June. At the end of the audition, two applicants will be selected and will be granted with a 3-year fellowship (gross monthly salary: €1975).

The two awarded doctoral students will be granted €4,000 to attend international conferences or to follow training related to their research or professional project. In addition, through the Plinius doctoral programme, they will benefit from personalised support to train in a wide range of cutting-edge technologies and prepare their professional project in an international and multidisciplinary environment.

About the Institute of Microbiology, Bioenergies and Biotechnology

Created in 2019 by Aix-Marseille Université, this Institute brings together more than 400 permanent staff, 250 Masters students, 150 PhD students and 160 post-docs, to strengthen interdisciplinary Research and Teaching in the field of Microbiology and its applications in Bioenergies, Environment and Health. Relying on a network of 11 internationally renowned research laboratories and a network of leading facilities, the IM2B brings together recognized expertise in viruses, bacteria, archaea, fungi, protists and photosynthetic organisms. It covers a large range of approaches, including bioinformatics, mathematical modelling, structural and cellular biology, molecular genetics, biophysics, biochemistry, biodiversity, chemistry. The research effort of IM2B is focused on the integration of all the scales of study, from the atom to the ecosystem, and its biotechnological applications on the different systems studied. The targeted applications are in particular in the field of energy such as CO2 storage, production of biofuel, biogas or bioethanol, new bio-inspired materials, biosensing or biosourced molecules, but also in the field of the environment (biodepollution…) or health (infectious diseases).

PhD projects (for more details, click on the title)

Co-supervisors :

Michaël LAFOND, Institut des sciences moléculaires de Marseille – iSm2 (mickael.lafond@univ-amu.fr)

Cécile JOURLIN-CASTELLI, Laboratoire de Bioénergétique et Ingénierie des Protéines – BIP (jourlin@imm.cnrs.fr)

Co-supervisors :

James STURGIS / Lucie BERGDOLL, Laboratoire d’Ingénierie des Systèmes Macromoléculaires –  LISM (lbergdoll@imm.cnrs.fr)

Guillaume GERBAUD, Laboratoire de Bioénergétique et Ingénierie des Protéines – BIP (ggerbaud@imm.cnrs.fr)

Co-supervisors :

Latifa ELANTAK, Laboratoire d’Ingénierie des Systèmes Macromoléculaires –  LISM (elantak@imm.cnrs.fr)

Romain MERCIER, Laboratoire de Chimie Bactérienne –LCB (rmercier@imm.cnrs.fr)

Co-supervisors :

Thierry DOAN, Laboratoire d’Ingénierie des Systèmes Macromoléculaires –  LISM (tdoan@imm.cnrs.fr)

Elisabetta MILEO, Laboratoire de Bioénergétique et Ingénierie des Protéines – BIP (emileo@imm.cnrs.fr)

Co-supervisors :

Yasmina MEKMOUCHE, Institut des sciences moléculaires de Marseille – iSm2 (y.mekmouche@univ-amu.fr)

Anne de POULPIQUET, Laboratoire de Bioénergétique et Ingénierie des Protéines – BIP (adepoulpiquet@imm.cnrs.fr)

How to apply?

You are interested in applying for one of the PhD projects? The candidate must hold a Master2 degree by summer 2022.

Applications, in English, including a CV (specifying the English level), a cover letter, transcripts and ranking of Master degree (Master 1 and first semester of Master 2), and the contact information for at least two references must be sent to the supervisors by May 9th 2022.

Deadline application:

By May 9th 2022

For further information

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research, Doctorat

Apply Online

Check Also

How Your Sleep Can Reveal Your Health: Warning Signs to Watch For

Your sleep is a valuable indicator of your overall health. Experts warn against certain nighttime …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

APPEL A CANDIDATURES PhD pour 2 postes de doctorants à l’Institut de Microbiologie, Bioénergies et Biotechnologies (IM2B) d’Aix-Marseille Université

France
Publié il y a 2 ans
  • DOMAINE(S) DE RECHERCHE1

Sciences naturelles  – Biologie, Chimie

  • DESCRIPTION DE L’EMPLOI 

Cet Institut rassemble le plus grand réseau français de microbiologistes moléculaires de classe mondiale. Il vise à explorer la diversité et le fonctionnement du monde microbien, aux niveaux moléculaire, cellulaire et écosystémique, ou par son association étroite avec d’autres organismes (plantes, microbiote, etc.), en vue de développer des solutions biotechnologiques innovantes dans les domaines des bioénergies, de l’environnement et de la santé.

Les cinq projets doctoraux décrits ci-dessous sont éligibles à un financement dans le cadre de cet appel à candidatures. Ce sont des projets interdisciplinaires basés sur des collaborations inter-laboratoires.

Pour chacun des projets, les co-encadrants sélectionneront un candidat qui sera auditionné par un jury. L’audition aura lieu en anglais ou en français, le 3 juin. A l’issue de l’audition, deux candidats seront sélectionnés et se verront attribuer une bourse de 3 ans (salaire mensuel brut : 1975 €).

Les deux doctorants lauréats se verront attribuer 4 000 € pour assister à des conférences internationales ou pour suivre une formation liée à leur recherche ou à leur projet professionnel. De plus, à travers le programme doctoral Plinius, ils bénéficieront d’un accompagnement personnalisé pour se former à un large éventail de technologies de pointe et préparer leur projet professionnel dans un environnement international et pluridisciplinaire.

A propos de l’Institut de Microbiologie, Bioénergies et Biotechnologies

Créé en 2019 par Aix-Marseille Université, cet Institut rassemble plus de 400 permanents, 250 étudiants en Master, 150 doctorants et 160 post-doctorants, pour renforcer la Recherche et l’Enseignement interdisciplinaires dans le domaine de la Microbiologie et ses applications en Bioénergies, Environnement et la santé. S’appuyant sur un réseau de 11 laboratoires de recherche de renommée internationale et un réseau d’équipements de pointe, l’IM2B rassemble une expertise reconnue sur les virus, les bactéries, les archées, les champignons, les protistes et les organismes photosynthétiques. Il couvre un large éventail d’approches, y compris la bioinformatique, la modélisation mathématique, la biologie structurale et cellulaire, la génétique moléculaire, la biophysique, la biochimie, la biodiversité, la chimie.L’effort de recherche de l’IM2B porte sur l’intégration de toutes les échelles d’étude, de l’atome à l’écosystème, et ses applications biotechnologiques sur les différents systèmes étudiés. Les applications visées sont notamment dans le domaine de l’énergie  comme le stockage du CO2, la production de biocarburant, de biogaz ou de bioéthanol, les nouveaux matériaux bio-inspirés, le biosensing ou les molécules biosourcées, mais aussi dans le domaine de l’ environnement (biodépollution…) ou santé (maladies infectieuses).

Projets doctoraux (pour plus de détails, cliquez sur le titre)

Co-encadrants  :

Michaël LAFOND, Institut des sciences moléculaires de Marseille – iSm2 ( mickael.lafond@univ-amu.fr )

Cécile JOURLIN-CASTELLI, Laboratoire de Bioénergétique et Ingénierie des Protéines – BIP ( jourlin@imm.cnrs.fr )

Co-encadrants  :

James STURGIS / Lucie BERGDOLL, Laboratoire d’Ingénierie des Systèmes Macromoléculaires – LISM ( lbergdoll@imm.cnrs.fr)

Guillaume GERBAUD, Laboratoire de Bioénergétique et Ingénierie des Protéines – BIP ( ggerbaud@imm.cnrs.fr )

Co-encadrants  :

Latifa ELANTAK, Laboratoire d’Ingénierie des Systèmes Macromoléculaires – LISM ( elantak@imm.cnrs.fr)

Romain MERCIER, Laboratoire de Chimie Bactérienne –LCB ( rmercier@imm.cnrs.fr )

Co-encadrants  :

Thierry DOAN, Laboratoire d’Ingénierie des Systèmes Macromoléculaires – LISM ( tdoan@imm.cnrs.fr )

Elisabetta MILEO, Laboratoire de Bioénergétique et Ingénierie des Protéines – BIP ( emileo@imm.cnrs.fr )

Co-encadrants  :

Yasmina MEKMOUCHE, Institut des sciences moléculaires de Marseille – iSm2 ( y.mekmouche@univ-amu.fr )

Anne de POULPIQUET, Laboratoire de Bioénergétique et Ingénierie des Protéines – BIP ( adepoulpiquet@imm.cnrs.fr )

Comment s’inscrire?

Vous êtes intéressé à postuler à l’un des projets de doctorat? Le candidat doit être titulaire d’un Master2 d’ici l’été 2022.

Les candidatures, en anglais, comprenant un CV (précisant le niveau d’anglais), une lettre de motivation, les relevés de notes et le classement du diplôme de Master (Master 1 et premier semestre de Master 2), et les coordonnées d’au moins deux références doivent être envoyées au superviseurs avant le 9 mai 2022 .

Date limite de candidature :

Avant le 9 mai 2022

Pour plus d’informations

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique, Doctorat

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

bourse Harvard LEAD 2024-2025 pour la promotion des femmes dans les applications de santé mondiale

La bourse LEAD 2024-2025, une bourse d’un an conçue pour développer les compétences en leadership …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *