Call for post-doctoral fellows at the Aix-Marseille Université IMI Institute

France
Posted 1 year ago

The institute finances up to three post-doctoral fellows for a maximum duration of 24 months (12 months + possible renewal of 12 months) starting in October 2023.

Acoustofluidics in the micro-environment of bone cells : assessment of mechanical stimuli 

Bone is a mechanosensitive living tissue subjected to constant remodeling in response to mechanical constraints. Bone remodeling is a skillful balance between the action of bone-forming cells (osteoblasts), and bone-resorbing cells (osteoclasts) orchestrated by bone-mechanosensing cells (osteocytes). However, this natural process is insufficient to address numerous bone disorders such as complex bone fracture or bone cancer, in which bone reconstruction must be assisted. As mechanical waves, ultrasound can provide additional local mechanical stimulation and potentially restore the balance of bone remodeling. (…)

Development of a Lattice Boltzmann Method (LBM)-based wildland fire simulator

Global warming was found to enhance the frequency and severity of favourable weather conditions for widland fires in southern Europe, contributing to a lengthening of the fire
weather season as well as an increased frequency of days with elevated fire danger. In addition, although the term “mega fires” is not well defined and seems to be more appropriate to refer to extreme fires occurring in the US or in Australia, gobal warming effects have modified the wildland fire behaviour in Mediterranean regions, leading to fires of higher intensity, higher spread rate and more difficult to handle, especially at the Wildland Urban Interface (WUI) [1]. WUI defines areas where wildland vegetation intermingles with human settlements. In the current context of climate change, there is an increasing attention on the WUI since these areas are often considered as one of the main drivers of fire risk, as witnessed in the recent tragic fire events (115 deaths in Portugal, 2017 and 102 deaths in Greece, 2018). During these events, most deaths have resulted from suffocation at home or on the road due to the conjugated effects of an exposition to a large amount of smoke particles, extreme thermal radiation emitted by the fire and convection due to hot gases (…)

Hydrodynamics and transport of a solute in the presence of semi-permeable walls in a Taylor-Couette cell.

Membrane separation techniques, used to separate the constituents of a mixture by driving it through a semi-permeable membrane, are ubiquitous in industry (wastewater treatment), medical sciences (dialysis) or environmental  issues (desalination). They suffer from the accumulation of the retained materials near or inside the membrane, which deteriorates their performances, due to various mechanisms such as adsorption, scaling, osmotic pressure or the build up of a gel layer. These mechanisms remain poorly understood, as they are numerically difficult to model and occur near opaque membranes hindering optical measurement techniques. These mechanisms also impact the hydrodynamics at stake in the separation devices. Reciprocally, these mechanisms can also be used to act upon and abate accumulation, by promoting hydrodynamic instabilities for instance.
This Post-Doc position endeavors to address these phenomena in a Taylor-Couette cell, where brine is driven in the gap between a semi-permeable rotating inner cylinder and a clear impermeable fixed outer cylinder (…)

Interaction between a vortex and a fluid interface

Fluid vortices in environmental and engineering flows exist over a large range of scales, from huge tornadoes, through tip vortices in the wake of turbines, to the smallest eddies in turbulent regions at dissipation scale. Many situations involve vortical flows in which several immiscible fluids are present. They include floating bodies or bodies immersed at small depth which shed vortices under the water surface, or propellers and foils in the wake of which tip vortices may cavitate or simply trap atmospheric air into their core. In these instances, the presence of a liquid/gas interface located either in the vicinity of the vortex or within its core, significantly modifies its dynamics. Fundamental studies on the interplay between vorticity and interfaces are rare. The work proposed will investigate the interaction of a single fluid vortex and a liquid/gas interface in various configurations through theoretical/numerical modelling and stability analyses (…)

Mechanisms of plasma enhancement of molecular adhesion

This project proposes to improve the adhesion technique to improve the adhesion of optical quality silica assemblies. This requires an understanding of the impact of substrate preparation, polishing technique, as well as surface preparation by plasma which can improve the adhesion procedure and then the adhesion, microelectronics techniques, in order to increase the mechanical strength of hybrid structures. The development of a multi-scale model (from the atom to the structure), thanks to the multidisciplinary expertise (optics, physics, mechanics, materials) of the consortium, in order to open the way to a fundamental research and a methodology applicable to current optical materials. Under certain conditions, the methodology could also be applied to metallic assemblies. (…)

Self-contracting vascular solids

Inspired by nature, pneumatic soft robots use vascular networks and external pumps to twist, deform, move and bend in ways that traditional hard robots cannot. So far, these soft robots lack autonomy compared to organisms, which control fluid transport in vascular networks in much more advanced ways. From animals to fungi, one of the most efficient fluid transport mechanism is based on vessels that can actively contract upon local sensing of stimuli. This adaptative fluid transport enables advanced functionalities in organisms such as autonomous locomotion toward objectives. The main goal of the proposed research is to design self-contracting vascular networks to study active solids that deform upon sensing.(…)

WTDI – Elastic waves in metamaterials with time-modulated interfaces

By structuring materials, it is possible to control waves and obtain surprising effects: high-resolution lenses, directional antennas, invisibility cloaks, etc. This is the paradigm of metamaterials, a field of research that has been very active since the early 2000s and which promises many technological developments, for example improving Wi-Fi coverage or insulating buildings against seismic waves. However, the properties accessible with these materials also have limits, given by the usual laws of physics. Reciprocity is one of these laws [4]. In the linear regime and without flow, a wave transmitted between two points remains the same when the source and receiver are interchanged. Breaking the reciprocity makes it possible to control the waves in a novel way by making directional band gaps possible. Applications include wave filtering, diode design and logic gates in elastodynamics.(…)

USEFUL LINKS
CONTACT INFORMATION

Email: imi-contact@univ-amu.fr

logo IMI

KEYWORDS
AAP Postdoc position, Call for applications
Postdoc recruitment, job offers

Job Features

Job CategoryPostdoctoral

Apply Online

Check Also

The Benefits of Physical Exercise for Hypertension Patients: Morning or Evening?

Introduction Hypertension, a chronic condition characterized by high blood pressure, is a leading cause of …

Appel à post-doctorants à l’Institut IMI d’Aix-Marseille Université

France
Publié il y a 10 mois

L’institut finance jusqu’à trois post-doctorants pour une durée maximale de 24 mois (12 mois + renouvellement possible de 12 mois) à compter d’octobre 2023.

Acoustofluidique dans le micro-environnement des cellules osseuses : évaluation des stimuli mécaniques 

L’os est un tissu vivant mécanosensible soumis à un remodelage constant en réponse à des contraintes mécaniques. Le remodelage osseux est un savant équilibre entre l’action des cellules ostéoformatrices (ostéoblastes) et des cellules résorbatrices osseuses (ostéoclastes) orchestrée par les cellules mécanosensrices osseuses (ostéocytes). Cependant, ce processus naturel est insuffisant pour traiter de nombreuses pathologies osseuses telles que les fractures osseuses complexes ou le cancer des os, dans lesquelles la reconstruction osseuse doit être assistée. Comme les ondes mécaniques, les ultrasons peuvent fournir une stimulation mécanique locale supplémentaire et potentiellement rétablir l’équilibre du remodelage osseux. (…)

Développement d’un simulateur de feu de forêt basé sur la méthode Lattice Boltzmann (LBM)

Il a été constaté que le réchauffement climatique augmentait la fréquence et la gravité des conditions météorologiques favorables aux incendies de forêt dans le sud de l’Europe, contribuant à l’allongement de l’incendie.
saison météorologique ainsi qu’une fréquence accrue de jours avec un danger d’incendie élevé. De plus, bien que le terme « méga-feux » ne soit pas bien défini et semble plus approprié pour désigner les incendies extrêmes survenant aux États-Unis ou en Australie, les effets du réchauffement climatique ont modifié le comportement des feux de forêt dans les régions méditerranéennes, entraînant des incendies de une intensité plus élevée, un taux de propagation plus élevé et plus difficile à gérer, en particulier à l’interface Wildland Urban Interface (WUI) [1]. WUI définit les zones où la végétation sauvage se mêle aux établissements humains. Dans le contexte actuel de changement climatique, les WUI suscitent une attention croissante, car ces zones sont souvent considérées comme l’un des principaux facteurs de risque d’incendie, comme en témoignent les récents incendies tragiques (115 décès au Portugal, 2017 et 102 décès en Grèce, 2018). Lors de ces événements,

Hydrodynamique et transport d’un soluté en présence de parois semi-perméables dans une cellule de Taylor-Couette.

Les techniques de séparation membranaire, utilisées pour séparer les constituants d’un mélange en le faisant passer à travers une membrane semi-perméable, sont omniprésentes dans l’industrie (traitement des eaux usées), les sciences médicales (dialyse) ou les problématiques environnementales (dessalement). Ils souffrent de l’accumulation des matériaux retenus à proximité ou à l’intérieur de la membrane, ce qui détériore leurs performances, en raison de divers mécanismes tels que l’adsorption, l’entartrage, la pression osmotique ou la formation d’une couche de gel. Ces mécanismes restent mal compris, car ils sont numériquement difficiles à modéliser et se produisent à proximité de membranes opaques gênant les techniques de mesure optique. Ces mécanismes impactent également l’hydrodynamique mise en jeu dans les dispositifs de séparation. Réciproquement, ces mécanismes peuvent également être utilisés pour agir sur l’accumulation et la réduire, en favorisant par exemple les instabilités hydrodynamiques.
Ce poste de post-doc s’efforce d’aborder ces phénomènes dans une cellule Taylor-Couette, où la saumure est entraînée dans l’espace entre un cylindre intérieur rotatif semi-perméable et un cylindre extérieur fixe transparent imperméable (…)

Interaction entre un vortex et une interface fluide

Les tourbillons de fluides dans les flux environnementaux et d’ingénierie existent sur une large gamme d’échelles, des énormes tornades, en passant par les tourbillons de pointe dans le sillage des turbines, aux plus petits tourbillons dans les régions turbulentes à l’échelle de la dissipation. De nombreuses situations impliquent des écoulements tourbillonnaires dans lesquels plusieurs fluides non miscibles sont présents. Il s’agit de corps flottants ou immergés à faible profondeur qui libèrent des tourbillons sous la surface de l’eau, ou d’hélices et de foils dans le sillage desquels des tourbillons d’extrémité peuvent caviter ou simplement emprisonner de l’air atmosphérique dans leur noyau. Dans ces cas, la présence d’une interface liquide/gaz située soit au voisinage du vortex, soit au sein de son cœur, modifie significativement sa dynamique. Les études fondamentales sur l’interaction entre la vorticité et les interfaces sont rares.

Mécanismes d’amélioration plasma de l’adhésion moléculaire

Ce projet propose d’améliorer la technique d’adhésion pour améliorer l’adhésion des assemblages de silice de qualité optique. Cela nécessite de comprendre l’impact de la préparation du substrat, de la technique de polissage, ainsi que de la préparation de surface par plasma qui peut améliorer la procédure d’adhésion puis l’adhésion, les techniques de la microélectronique, afin d’augmenter la résistance mécanique des structures hybrides. Le développement d’un modèle multi-échelle (de l’atome à la structure), grâce à l’expertise multidisciplinaire (optique, physique, mécanique, matériaux) du consortium, afin d’ouvrir la voie à une recherche fondamentale et à une méthodologie applicable à matériaux optiques actuels. Sous certaines conditions, la méthodologie pourrait également s’appliquer aux assemblages métalliques. (…)

Solides vasculaires autocontractants

Inspirés par la nature, les robots souples pneumatiques utilisent des réseaux vasculaires et des pompes externes pour se tordre, se déformer, se déplacer et se plier d’une manière que les robots durs traditionnels ne peuvent pas. Jusqu’à présent, ces robots mous manquent d’autonomie par rapport aux organismes, qui contrôlent le transport des fluides dans les réseaux vasculaires de manière beaucoup plus avancée. Des animaux aux champignons, l’un des mécanismes de transport de fluide les plus efficaces est basé sur des vaisseaux qui peuvent se contracter activement lors de la détection locale de stimuli. Ce transport de fluide adaptatif permet des fonctionnalités avancées dans les organismes telles que la locomotion autonome vers des objectifs. L’objectif principal de la recherche proposée est de concevoir des réseaux vasculaires auto-contractants pour étudier les solides actifs qui se déforment lors de la détection.(…)

WTDI – Ondes élastiques dans les métamatériaux aux interfaces modulées dans le temps

En structurant les matériaux, il est possible de contrôler les ondes et d’obtenir des effets surprenants : lentilles haute résolution, antennes directionnelles, capes d’invisibilité, etc. C’est le paradigme des métamatériaux, un domaine de recherche très actif depuis le début des années 2000 et qui promet de nombreuses évolutions technologiques, comme par exemple l’amélioration de la couverture Wi-Fi ou l’isolation des bâtiments contre les ondes sismiques. Cependant, les propriétés accessibles avec ces matériaux ont aussi des limites, données par les lois usuelles de la physique. La réciprocité est l’une de ces lois [4]. En régime linéaire et sans débit, une onde transmise entre deux points reste la même lorsque la source et le récepteur sont intervertis. Casser la réciprocité permet de contrôler les ondes d’une manière originale en rendant possibles des bandes interdites directionnelles. Les applications incluent le filtrage des ondes,

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiPostdoctoral

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Bourses McDonald 2024 sur la sclérose en plaques (jusqu’à 30 000 £ GBP par an)

Les candidatures pour les bourses McDonald sont désormais ouvertes – date de clôture 30 juin …