Applications open for Lipman Family Prize 2024

UNITED STATES
Posted 11 months ago

2019 Award Ceremony

The Barry & Marie Lipman Family Prize at the University of Pennsylvania is an annual global prize that celebrates leadership and innovation in the social sector with an emphasis on impact and transferability of practices.

The Lipman Family Prize recognizes and supports these organizations — providing a service to the broader social sector by connecting organizations across service areas to the broader Penn community. The University of Pennsylvania is home to a dynamic, diverse community of faculty, staff, administration, students and alumni committed to drawing on their knowledge and expertise to partner across disciplines and geographies to improve the world.

We value building relationships and are passionate about getting to know change-makers around the world. We champion innovative practices and people to accelerate smart solutions across places and problems. The more we can shed light on solutions that work, the more effective we’ll be at creating a better world.

“As a University built on new ideas, passionate people, and practical pursuits, the University of Pennsylvania is delighted to welcome the Lipman Family Prize honorees as members of the Penn and Wharton community who are having a positive impact on the world.”

Amy Gutmann
Former President, University of Pennsylvania

Award Components

Each year, the Lipman Family Prize selects three winners. The grand prize winning organization receives a $250,000 unrestricted cash award, and the two additional winning organizations each receive a $125,000 unrestricted cash award.

In addition, all three winners receive the same non-monetary benefits including:

1

An ongoing partnership with the University dedicated to knowledge sharing and support of the organization, including opportunities for resources and relationships to help scale the work or improve organizational sustainability.

2

Promotion of their work and accomplishments to a large audience, and network development within the Lipman Prize community of winners, and the broader Penn network.

3

Access to tuition-free executive education programs at the Wharton Executive Education and the Center for Social Impact Strategy, valued at approximately $15,000.

4

The exclusive Lipman Nonprofit Leadership Scholarship, given in partnership with the University’s School of Public Policy and Practice, valued at approximately $10,000.

Lipman Family Prize Confidentiality Statement – All materials shared with the Lipman Family Prize as part of our application process will be kept confidential. If there is a desire to share any data related to individual applicants, the Lipman Prize will make a direct request for permission.

Evaluation Criteria

Winners of the Lipman Family Prize are models for the good that they achieve as well as for their approach and implementation. They each tackle a universal problem in one or more local settings — and, as such, offer an approach, model, or innovation that can be adapted to create a positive impact elsewhere. The application process places particular emphasis on the following four qualities: Leadership, Impact, Innovation, and Transferability.

Leadership

Lipman Family Prize winners are organizations that achieve good through sustainable approaches. Their models are exemplary and provide solutions for tackling universal problems that can be adapted around the world.

Impact

Lipman Family Prize winners have exhibited proof of concept for their model and/or specific project. They are poised to scale and see the Lipman Prize as the catalyst for growth.

Innovation

Lipman Family Prize winners offer innovation and/or innovative approach to solving a pressing world problem.

Transferability

Lipman Family Prize winners embrace the importance of knowledge transfer within the social sector. A core element of their business model has the potential to transfer across geography and/or need, thus offering valuable knowledge assets for the social impact community.

View how each winner is aligned with our evaluation criteria on our winner page!

Eligibility

Winners can be working in any geographic region, and making a positive impact in addressing any globally relevant social challenge of public interest. We encourage organizations working anywhere in the world to apply. Organizations do not have to operate outside of their home country to win the Prize. See below for eligibility details.

Eligibility Criteria

Relationship with the University of Pennsylvania

Previous Applicants

Applicant Profiles

Recent Statistical Centers

Over the past five years, applicants that have reached the semi-finalist stage (top 10-15 organizations) have been represented by a wide range of organizational profiles, with these statistical centers below. These statistics, along with our Winner Profiles, offer prospective applicants a sense of the types of organizations that perform well in the Lipman Family Prize application cycle. We recommend that organizations review this information before submitting an application for the Prize.

Median Organizational Budget
$2.7 million USD

Average Organizational Budget
$4.2 million USD
(The middle 50% of the last 5 years of semi-finalist applicants’ budget sizes were between $1.5 – $4.3 million USD, with the full range between $500,000 and $8.1 million, excluding outliers)

Median Organizational Age
12 years

Average Organizational Age
13 years
(The middle 50% of the semi-finalist organizations in the last 5 years have been between 9 and 16 years old, with the full range between 4 to 25 years old, excluding outliers)

Alignment with the Lipman Prize

In addition to meeting our eligibility criteria listed above, the most successful applicants tend to:

  • Exemplify each of the 4 evaluation criteria described above: leadership, impact, innovation, and transferability;
  • Tell a cohesive story about their organization that describes the social challenge, explains how they have chosen to address this problem and why they have chosen this solution, and what the impact and positive change has been for the intended beneficiaries;
  • Have deep roots in the community being served;
  • Have a proven effective delivery model and capacity for growth;
  • May not yet have gained significant recognition, but is building a track record of success;
  • Have a demonstrated learning orientation within the organization’s leadership and culture;
  • Be interested in the non-monetary benefits and partnership opportunities associated with the Lipman Family Prize’s unique base within the University of Pennsylvania; and
  • Want to be an active participant and peer learning partner in the growing community of Lipman Prize winning organizations.

The Lipman Family Prize celebrated its 10 year anniversary! Watch this video commemorating our first decade.

Application Process

We have deep respect for change-makers implementing cutting-edge solutions to poverty and inequality around the world and review each application to the Lipman Family Prize with thoughtfulness and care.

Our application process consists of four main phases- application submission and reviews, due diligence, selection of the winners and partnership development. Applications are reviewed under the supervision of staff and faculty at the University of Pennsylvania. All applicants will be notified in September whether or not they will continue to be considered in that year’s selection process. The winners and grand prize winning organization will be announced in April. The grand prize winner and two other winning organizations will attend a special award ceremony and related events held at the University of Pennsylvania.

Please see below for a detailed breakdown of each of these phases.

PHASE 1: Open Application Round

Timeframe: July – September

This first phase of the application is open to any organization that meets the eligibility criteria outlined above. This first round includes essay questions across the 5 themes listed below, basic organizational profile information, and the submission of existing financial statements that demonstrate the eligibility criteria has been met.

Applicant Requirements

Applicants submit an online application during this open application period, which typically opens on July 1 each year for one month. The current cycle’s specific dates can be found in the “Important Dates” tab.

Review Process

Each year, we typically receive around 100 applications in the open submission period. We invite a team of trained reviewers from our Lipman Prize community to review the applications using a quantitative assessment framework that focuses on the 4 evaluation criteria of leadership, impact, innovation, and transferability.

Essay Questions

Phase 1 essay questions are intended to give applicants the opportunity to tell their story. Every organization has a story, and we want to learn about yours. The essay questions are organized into 5 themes:

  • Social Challenge: These questions ask for background information about the societal problem(s) your organization aims to solve in the geographical context(s) you operate, as well as the global relevance of this social challenge. Help us understand the problem being addressed.
  • Model Description: These questions ask to explain what the organization does. Given the social challenge described above, how has your organization chosen to address this challenge?
  • Model Differentiation: As innovation is a key evaluation criteria for the Lipman Family Prize, these questions ask to explain the distinct approaches and practices your organization has adopted to address the social challenge your organization addresses.
  • Impact Measurement: These questions ask for both a process description and for actual impact results. These questions aim to understand your monitoring and evaluation process and how your organization assesses the impact of the model described above in addressing the social challenge addressed above. These questions also are the opportunity to share your organization’s impact data.
  • Transferability: These questions aim to understand how your organization’s model has the potential to transfer to other geographical contexts, or to other issue areas, essentially sharing knowledge assets for the benefit of the wider social impact community.

End Result

A subset of 24-40 organizations are invited to advance to Phase 2 of our application process. All applicants are notified in September as to whether they are chosen for further review in Phase 2.

Job Features

Job CategoryOpportunity

Apply Online

Check Also

Discovery of Plastic Particles in Human Testicles: A Threat to Male Fertility

Introduction Scientists have discovered significant concentrations of microplastics in human testicular tissues, raising concerns about …

Candidatures ouvertes pour le prix de la famille Lipman 2024

USA
Publié il y a 8 mois

Cérémonie de remise des prix 2019

Le prix de la famille Barry & Marie Lipman de l’Université de Pennsylvanie est un prix mondial annuel qui célèbre le leadership et l’innovation dans le secteur social en mettant l’accent sur l’impact et la transférabilité des pratiques.

Le prix de la famille Lipman reconnaît et soutient ces organisations – fournissant un service au secteur social plus large en reliant les organisations de tous les domaines de service à la communauté Penn plus large. L’Université de Pennsylvanie abrite une communauté dynamique et diversifiée de professeurs, de personnel, d’administration, d’étudiants et d’anciens élèves déterminés à tirer parti de leurs connaissances et de leur expertise pour s’associer à travers les disciplines et les zones géographiques pour améliorer le monde.

Nous apprécions l’établissement de relations et sommes passionnés par la connaissance des acteurs du changement à travers le monde. Nous défendons les pratiques et les personnes innovantes pour accélérer les solutions intelligentes à travers les lieux et les problèmes. Plus nous pourrons faire la lumière sur des solutions qui fonctionnent, plus nous serons efficaces pour créer un monde meilleur.

« En tant qu’université fondée sur de nouvelles idées, des personnes passionnées et des activités pratiques, l’Université de Pennsylvanie est ravie d’accueillir les lauréats du prix de la famille Lipman en tant que membres de la communauté Penn et Wharton qui ont un impact positif sur le monde. »

Amy Gutmann
Ancienne présidente, Université de Pennsylvanie

Composants du prix

Chaque année, le Prix de la famille Lipman sélectionne trois lauréats. medjouel.com vous informe que L’organisation gagnante du grand prix reçoit une récompense en espèces sans restriction de 250 000 $ et les deux autres organisations gagnantes reçoivent chacune une récompense en espèces sans restriction de 125 000 $ .

De plus, les trois gagnants reçoivent les mêmes avantages non monétaires, notamment :

1

Un partenariat continu avec l’Université dédié au partage des connaissances et au soutien de l’organisation, y compris des opportunités de ressources et de relations pour aider à faire évoluer le travail ou à améliorer la durabilité de l’organisation.

2

Promotion de leur travail et de leurs réalisations auprès d’un large public et développement du réseau au sein de la communauté des lauréats du prix Lipman et du réseau Penn plus large.

3

Accès à des programmes de formation des cadres sans frais de scolarité au Wharton Executive Education et au Center for Social Impact Strategy , d’une valeur d’environ 15 000 $.

4

La bourse exclusive  Lipman Nonprofit Leadership Scholarship , décernée en partenariat avec la School of Public Policy and Practice de l’Université, d’une valeur d’environ 10 000 $.

Déclaration de confidentialité du prix de la famille Lipman – Tous les documents partagés avec le prix de la famille Lipman dans le cadre de notre processus de candidature resteront confidentiels. S’il y a un désir de partager des données relatives à des candidats individuels, le prix Lipman fera une demande directe d’autorisation.

Critère d’évaluation

Les lauréats du prix de la famille Lipman sont des modèles pour le bien qu’ils réalisent ainsi que pour leur approche et leur mise en œuvre. Ils s’attaquent chacun à un problème universel dans un ou plusieurs contextes locaux – et, à ce titre, proposent une approche, un modèle ou une innovation qui peut être adapté pour créer un impact positif ailleurs. Le processus de candidature met particulièrement l’accent sur les quatre qualités suivantes : leadership, impact, innovation et transférabilité.

Direction

Les lauréats du prix de la famille Lipman sont des organisations qui réussissent grâce à des approches durables. Leurs modèles sont exemplaires et apportent des solutions pour s’attaquer à des problèmes universels qui peuvent être adaptés dans le monde entier.

Impact

Les lauréats du prix de la famille Lipman ont présenté une preuve de concept pour leur modèle et/ou projet spécifique. Ils sont prêts à évoluer et voient le prix Lipman comme un catalyseur de croissance.

Innovation

Les lauréats du prix de la famille Lipman proposent une innovation et/ou une approche innovante pour résoudre un problème mondial urgent.

Transférabilité

Les lauréats du prix de la famille Lipman reconnaissent l’importance du transfert des connaissances au sein du secteur social. Un élément central de leur modèle d’entreprise a le potentiel de se transférer à travers la géographie et/ou les besoins, offrant ainsi des actifs de connaissances précieux pour la communauté de l’impact social.

Voyez comment chaque gagnant est aligné avec nos critères d’évaluation sur notre page des gagnants !

Admissibilité

Les gagnants peuvent travailler dans n’importe quelle région géographique et avoir un impact positif sur la résolution de tout défi social d’intérêt public d’importance mondiale. Nous encourageons les organisations travaillant partout dans le monde à postuler. Les organisations n’ont pas à opérer en dehors de leur pays d’origine pour gagner le prix. Voir ci-dessous pour les détails d’éligibilité.

Critère d’éligibilité

Relation avec l’Université de Pennsylvanie

candidats précédents

Profils des candidats

Centres statistiques récents

Au cours des cinq dernières années, les candidats qui ont atteint le stade des demi-finalistes (les 10 à 15 meilleures organisations) ont été représentés par un large éventail de profils organisationnels, avec ces centres statistiques ci-dessous. Ces statistiques, ainsi que nos profils de gagnants , offrent aux candidats potentiels une idée des types d’organisations qui obtiennent de bons résultats dans le cycle de candidature du prix de la famille Lipman. Nous recommandons aux organisations d’examiner ces informations avant de soumettre une candidature pour le prix.

Budget organisationnel médian
2,7 millions de dollars US

Budget organisationnel moyen
de 4,2 millions de dollars américains
(les 50 % du milieu des 5 dernières années de taille du budget des candidats demi-finalistes se situaient entre 1,5 et 4,3 millions de dollars américains, avec une fourchette complète comprise entre 500 000 et 8,1 millions de dollars, à l’exclusion des valeurs aberrantes)

Âge organisationnel médian
12 ans

Âge moyen de l’organisation
13 ans
(La moitié moyenne des organisations demi-finalistes au cours des 5 dernières années ont entre 9 et 16 ans, la tranche complète étant entre 4 et 25 ans, à l’exclusion des valeurs aberrantes)

Alignement avec le prix Lipman

En plus de répondre à nos critères d’éligibilité énumérés ci-dessus, les candidats les plus retenus ont tendance à :

  • Illustrez chacun des 4 critères d’évaluation décrits ci-dessus : leadership, impact, innovation et transférabilité ;
  • Raconter une histoire cohérente sur leur organisation qui décrit le défi social, explique comment ils ont choisi de résoudre ce problème et pourquoi ils ont choisi cette solution, et quel a été l’impact et le changement positif pour les bénéficiaires visés ;
  • Avoir des racines profondes dans la communauté desservie ;
  • Avoir un modèle de prestation efficace et éprouvé et une capacité de croissance ;
  • Peut-être n’a-t-il pas encore acquis une reconnaissance significative, mais construit un palmarès de succès ;
  • Avoir une orientation d’apprentissage démontrée au sein du leadership et de la culture de l’organisation ;
  • Être intéressé par les avantages non monétaires et les opportunités de partenariat associés à la base unique du prix de la famille Lipman au sein de l’Université de Pennsylvanie ; et
  • Vous voulez être un participant actif et un partenaire d’apprentissage par les pairs dans la communauté grandissante des organisations lauréates du prix Lipman.

Le Prix de la Famille Lipman a fêté ses 10 ans ! Regardez cette vidéo commémorant notre première décennie.

Processus de demande

Nous avons un profond respect pour les acteurs du changement qui mettent en œuvre des solutions de pointe à la pauvreté et aux inégalités dans le monde et examinons chaque candidature au prix de la famille Lipman avec attention et attention.

Notre processus de candidature se compose de quatre phases principales : soumission et examen des candidatures, diligence raisonnable, sélection des gagnants et développement de partenariats. Les candidatures sont examinées sous la supervision du personnel et du corps professoral de l’Université de Pennsylvanie. Tous les candidats seront informés en septembre s’ils continueront ou non d’être pris en compte dans le processus de sélection de cette année-là. Les gagnants et l’organisation gagnante du grand prix seront annoncés en avril. Le gagnant du grand prix et deux autres organisations gagnantes assisteront à une cérémonie de remise de prix spéciale et à des événements connexes organisés à l’Université de Pennsylvanie.

Veuillez voir ci-dessous pour une ventilation détaillée de chacune de ces phases.

PHASE 1 : Cycle de candidature ouvert

Période : juillet – septembre

Cette première phase de candidature est ouverte à toute organisation qui répond aux critères d’éligibilité décrits ci-dessus. Ce premier tour comprend des questions à développement sur les 5 thèmes énumérés ci-dessous, des informations de base sur le profil de l’organisation et la soumission des états financiers existants qui démontrent que les critères d’éligibilité ont été remplis.

Exigences du candidat

Les candidats soumettent une candidature en ligne pendant cette période de candidature ouverte, qui s’ouvre généralement le 1er juillet de chaque année pendant un mois. Les dates précises du cycle en cours se trouvent dans l’onglet « Dates importantes ».

Processus de vérification

Chaque année, nous recevons généralement environ 100 candidatures pendant la période de soumission ouverte. Nous invitons une équipe d’examinateurs formés de notre communauté du prix Lipman à examiner les candidatures à l’aide d’un cadre d’évaluation quantitatif axé sur les 4 critères d’évaluation que sont le leadership, l’impact, l’innovation et la transférabilité.

Questions de dissertation

Les questions à développement de la phase 1 visent à donner aux candidats la possibilité de raconter leur histoire. Chaque organisation a une histoire, et nous voulons en savoir plus sur la vôtre. Les questions à développement sont organisées en 5 thèmes :

  • Défi social : ces questions demandent des informations générales sur le(s) problème(s) de société que votre organisation vise à résoudre dans le(s) contexte(s) géographique(s) où vous opérez, ainsi que la pertinence globale de ce défi social. Aidez-nous à comprendre le problème traité.
  • Description du modèle : Ces questions demandent d’expliquer ce que fait l’organisation. Compte tenu du défi social décrit ci-dessus, comment votre organisation a-t-elle choisi de relever ce défi ?
  • Différenciation des modèles : Comme l’innovation est un critère d’évaluation clé pour le prix de la famille Lipman, ces questions demandent d’expliquer les approches et pratiques distinctes que votre organisation a adoptées pour relever le défi social auquel votre organisation s’attaque.
  • Mesure de l’impact : ces questions demandent à la fois une description du processus et des résultats d’impact réels. Ces questions visent à comprendre votre processus de suivi et d’évaluation et la manière dont votre organisation évalue l’impact du modèle décrit ci-dessus pour relever le défi social évoqué ci-dessus. Ces questions sont également l’occasion de partager les données d’impact de votre organisation.
  • Transférabilité : ces questions visent à comprendre comment le modèle de votre organisation peut être transféré à d’autres contextes géographiques ou à d’autres domaines, partageant essentiellement des actifs de connaissances au profit de la communauté d’impact social au sens large.

Résultat final

Un sous-ensemble de 24 à 40 organisations est invité à passer à la phase 2 de notre processus de candidature. Tous les candidats sont informés en septembre s’ils sont sélectionnés pour un examen plus approfondi lors de la phase 2.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiPrix, Concours et offres

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

bourse Harvard LEAD 2024-2025 pour la promotion des femmes dans les applications de santé mondiale

La bourse LEAD 2024-2025, une bourse d’un an conçue pour développer les compétences en leadership …