Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Biostatistics – Oslo, Norway

Norway
Posted 2 years ago

The postdoc position is funded by the Norwegian Cancer Society through the project “Stable variable selection in ultra-high dimensional statistics” (Principal investigator Professor Magne Thoresen) for a period of three years. The general purpose of the project is to work on methodology for variable selection in high-dimensional problems. The project is a collaboration between the University of Oslo and the University of Tromsø.

The postdoctoral research fellow will be employed in a 100% 3-year position at OCBE

Currently, OCBE includes 11 tenured professors and associate professors, 15 researchers, and a number of post-doctoral fellows and PhD students, making up a group of about 80 people. OCBE is internationally recognized, with interests spanning a broad range of areas (including time-to-event models, data integration, causal inference, statistical genomics, high dimensional data and models, Bayesian inference, stochastic simulation algorithms, probabilistic graphical models, machine learning, evolution and population genetics, measurement error models, epidemiological studies of lifestyle and chronic diseases, stochastic models for infectious diseases) and numerous collaborations with leading bio-medical research groups internationally and in Norway. OCBE is an active partner of Big Insight: Statistics for the Knowledge Economy, which is one of the Norwegian centers of excellence for research-based innovation.

More about the position

The post holder will carry out research in statistical methodology related to variable selection in high-dimensional genomic data. The goal is to develop stable variable selection procedures that allow control of false discoveries. You will work on methods for specific problems related to learning of graphical models, with applications in cancer research.

We are looking for a highly motivated candidate with a strong mathematical / statistical background. You will have a PhD in statistics/mathematics or related field, and you will have conducted methodological research in statistics. Proven experience in programming is required. The ideal candidate is able to work effectively as part of a team, but also to develop and pursue independent ideas. The successful candidate is expected to conduct innovative research at the highest international level.

Qualification requirements

  • Applicants must hold a PhD degree in statistics, biostatistics, mathematics, or other disciplines with documented experience in statistics
  • Experience with genomic data is an advantage, but not necessary
  • Knowledge about penalized regression methods / graphical models is an advantage, but not necessary
  • Documented programming skills in R, python, MatLab, C, C++ or equivalent are necessary
  • Fluent oral and written communication skills in English

Candidates from foreign educational institutions must have completed the requirements for the doctoral degree within three months after the closing date. Candidates from Norwegian educational institutions must have submitted their doctoral dissertations for evaluation before the closing date.

We offer

  • Salary NOK 534 400 – 615 800 per annum depending on qualifications as a postdoctoral research fellow (position code 1352)
  • Attractive welfare benefits and a generous pension agreement, in addition to Oslo’s family-friendly environment with its rich opportunities for culture and outdoor activities
  • A structured career development program, specifically developed for post doc candidates 

How to apply

The application must include

  • Cover letter with statement of motivation and research interests (including a summary of the applicant’s scientific work and interests and describing how she/he fits the description of the person we seek).
  • CV (summarizing education, positions and academic work)
  • Copies of educational certificates (academic transcripts only)
  • A complete list of publications and academic works
  • List of reference persons: 2-3 references (name, relation to candidate, e-mail and phone number)

The application with attachments must be delivered in our electronic recruiting system, please follow the link: “Apply for this job”. Foreign applicants are advised to attach an explanation of their University’s grading system. Please note that all documents should be in English (or a Scandinavian language).

When evaluating the application, emphasis will be given both to the applicant’s academic and personal prerequisites to carry out the project. Applicants may be called in for an interview.

Formal regulations

Please see the guidelines and regulations for appointments to Postdoctoral fellowships at the University of Oslo.

No one can be appointed for more than one Postdoctoral Fellow period at the University of Oslo.

According to the Norwegian Freedom of Information Act (Offentleglova) information about the applicant may be included in the public applicant list, also in cases where the applicant has requested non-disclosure.

Inclusion and diversity are a strength. The University of Oslo has a personnel policy objective of achieving a balanced gender composition. Furthermore, we want employees with diverse professional expertise, life experience and perspectives.

If there are qualified applicants with disabilities, employment gaps or immigrant background, we will invite at least one applicant from each of these categories to an interview.

Contact information

Professor Magne Thoresen, email: magne.thoresen@medisin.uio.no

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research, Postdoctoral

Apply Online

Check Also

Discovery of Plastic Particles in Human Testicles: A Threat to Male Fertility

Introduction Scientists have discovered significant concentrations of microplastics in human testicular tissues, raising concerns about …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Chercheur postdoctoral en biostatistique – Oslo , Norvège

Norvège
Publié il y a 2 ans

Un poste de chercheur postdoctoral est disponible au Centre de biostatistique et d’épidémiologie d’Oslo (OCBE), Département de biostatistique, Université d’Oslo.

Le poste de postdoc est financé par la Société norvégienne du cancer dans le cadre du projet « Sélection de variables stables dans les statistiques ultra-hautes dimensions » (chercheur principal, professeur Magne Thoresen) pour une période de trois ans. L’objectif général du projet est de travailler sur la méthodologie de sélection de variables dans les problèmes de grande dimension. Le projet est une collaboration entre l’Université d’Oslo et l’Université de Tromsø.

Le chercheur postdoctoral sera employé dans un poste à 100% de 3 ans à OCBE

Actuellement, l’OCBE comprend 11 professeurs titulaires et professeurs associés, 15 chercheurs et un certain nombre de boursiers postdoctoraux et d’étudiants au doctorat, constituant un groupe d’environ 80 personnes. OCBE est internationalement reconnu, avec des intérêts couvrant un large éventail de domaines (y compris les modèles de temps d’événement, l’intégration de données, l’inférence causale, la génomique statistique, les données et modèles de haute dimension, l’inférence bayésienne, les algorithmes de simulation stochastique, les modèles graphiques probabilistes, l’apprentissage automatique , évolution et génétique des populations, modèles d’erreur de mesure, études épidémiologiques du mode de vie et des maladies chroniques, modèles stochastiques pour les maladies infectieuses) et de nombreuses collaborations avec des groupes de recherche biomédicale de premier plan à l’international et en Norvège. OCBE est un partenaire actif de Big Insight: Statistics for the Knowledge Economy,

En savoir plus sur le poste

Le titulaire du poste effectuera des recherches en méthodologie statistique liées à la sélection de variables dans les données génomiques de grande dimension. L’objectif est de développer des procédures de sélection de variables stables qui permettent de contrôler les fausses découvertes. Vous travaillerez sur des méthodes pour des problèmes spécifiques liés à l’apprentissage de modèles graphiques, avec des applications dans la recherche sur le cancer.

Nous recherchons un candidat très motivé avec une solide formation en mathématiques/statistiques. Vous serez titulaire d’un doctorat en statistique/mathématiques ou dans un domaine connexe, et vous aurez mené des recherches méthodologiques en statistique. Une expérience avérée en programmation est exigée. Le candidat idéal est capable de travailler efficacement au sein d’une équipe, mais aussi de développer et de poursuivre des idées indépendantes. Le candidat retenu devra mener des recherches innovantes au plus haut niveau international.

Les exigences de qualification

  • Les candidats doivent être titulaires d’un doctorat en statistique, biostatistique, mathématiques ou dans d’autres disciplines avec une expérience documentée en statistique
  • Une expérience avec les données génomiques est un avantage, mais pas nécessaire
  • La connaissance des méthodes de régression pénalisées / modèles graphiques est un avantage, mais pas nécessaire
  • Des compétences documentées en programmation en R, python, MatLab, C, C++ ou équivalent sont nécessaires
  • Excellentes compétences en communication orale et écrite en anglais

Les candidats des établissements d’enseignement étrangers doivent avoir satisfait aux exigences du doctorat dans les trois mois suivant la date de clôture. Les candidats des établissements d’enseignement norvégiens doivent avoir soumis leurs thèses de doctorat pour évaluation avant la date de clôture.

Nous offrons

  • Salaire NOK 534 400 – 615 800 par an selon les qualifications en tant que chercheur postdoctoral (code de poste 1352)
  • Des avantages sociaux attractifs et un accord de retraite généreux, en plus de l’environnement familial d’Oslo avec ses riches opportunités pour la culture et les activités de plein air
  • Un programme de développement de carrière structuré, spécifiquement développé pour les post-doctorants 

comment s’inscrire

La demande doit comprendre

  • Lettre de motivation avec déclaration de motivation et d’intérêts de recherche (comprenant un résumé des travaux et des intérêts scientifiques du candidat et décrivant en quoi il correspond à la description de la personne que nous recherchons).
  • CV (résumant la formation, les postes et le travail universitaire)
  • Copies des certificats d’études (relevés de notes uniquement)
  • Une liste complète des publications et travaux académiques
  • Liste des personnes de référence : 2-3 références (nom, lien avec le candidat, e-mail et numéro de téléphone)

La candidature avec pièces jointes doit être déposée dans notre système de recrutement électronique, veuillez suivre le lien : « Postuler à cette offre ». Les candidats étrangers sont invités à joindre une explication du système de notation de leur université. Veuillez noter que tous les documents doivent être en anglais (ou dans une langue scandinave).

Lors de l’évaluation de la candidature, l’accent sera mis sur les prérequis académiques et personnels du candidat pour mener à bien le projet. Les candidats peuvent être convoqués pour un entretien.

Réglementation formelle

Veuillez consulter les lignes directrices et les règlements pour les nominations aux bourses postdoctorales à l’Université d’Oslo.

Nul ne peut être nommé pour plus d’une période de bourse postdoctorale à l’Université d’Oslo.

Conformément à la loi norvégienne sur la liberté d’information (Offentleglova), les informations sur le demandeur peuvent être incluses dans la liste publique des candidats, également dans les cas où le demandeur a demandé la non-divulgation.

L’inclusion et la diversité sont une force. L’Université d’Oslo a pour objectif de politique du personnel d’atteindre une composition équilibrée entre les sexes. De plus, nous voulons des employés ayant une expertise professionnelle, une expérience de vie et des perspectives diverses.

S’il y a des candidats qualifiés handicapés, en manque d’emploi ou issus de l’immigration, nous inviterons au moins un candidat de chacune de ces catégories à un entretien.

Informations de contact

Professeur Magne Thoresen, courriel : magne.thoresen@medisin.uio.no

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique, Postdoctoral

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

800 Bourses du Groupe des universités brésiliennes (GCUB) 2025

Le Groupe de Coopération Internationale des Universités Brésiliennes – GCUB est heureux de diffuser l’Édit …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *