Research Associate Position in Metabolic Engineering – Paris region, France

France
Posted 2 years ago

We are seeking a candidate for a research associate position in bacterial Synthetic Biology and Metabolic Engineering. The successful candidate will take part of an ongoing European H2020 project aimed at developing a biosensing platform for multiplex detection at single-cell level of biomarkers linked to cancer metastasis.

The position is open at the MICALIS institute (University of Paris-Saclay, INRAe), a research unit of more than 350 researchers developing multidisciplinary approaches and promoting microbial systems biology towards the development of synthetic biology applications for health and biotechnology. Within MICALIS, the recruiting research team specializes in developing whole-cell and cell-free synthetic biology for metabolic pathway and biosensor engineering to produce biologically active molecules and monitor disease biomarkers.

The person recruited will be responsible for engineering pathways that upon biomarker detection trigger the production of chemical signals simultaneously detectable with high sensitivity by surface-enhanced Raman scattering (SERS). The work will involve (i) design of pathway producing SERS detectable molecules, (ii) engineering and benchmarking the designed pathways in an E. coli strain, (iii) integrating the engineered pathways with biosensing devices developed by other project partners of the EU project. To achieve these tasks the successful candidate will benefit from several years of experience the recruiting team has developed connecting biosensing devices with metabolic pathways (//www.jfaulon.com/biosensor/).

Applicants’ profile:

    • Applicants should have a Ph.D. degree, preferably with post-doctoral experience, in one or more of systems & synthetic biology, metabolic engineering, or molecular biology.
    • Essential skills required include experimental protocols and analytical techniques used in synthetic biology and molecular biology. Experience in designing and engineering metabolic pathways or biosensing devices is desirable.
    • Ability to write high-quality research manuscripts, strong collaborative skills, and excellent communication skills in English are required.

The position is open for 12 months (then renewable for two additional years) from April 1st, 2022. The appointee will be hired through fixed-term contracts in accordance with French legislation. A competitive salary will be proposed based on qualifications and experience.

To Apply: Applicants should send a detailed curriculum vitae, a letter of intent explaining their motivations for the position, and contact details of at least two references. Send your queries/ applications to: manish.kushwaha[at]inrae.fr and jean-loup.faulon[at]inrae.fr.

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research

Apply Online

Check Also

Fully Funded PhD Positions at International Max Planck Research School – Brain and Behavior

The International Max Planck Research School for Brain and Behavior is a unique collaboration between …

Leave a Reply

Poste d’associé de recherche en génie métabolique – Région parisienne, France

France
Publié il y a 2 ans

Nous recherchons un candidat pour un poste d’associé de recherche en biologie synthétique bactérienne et en génie métabolique. Le candidat retenu participera à un projet européen H2020 en cours visant à développer une plateforme de biodétection pour la détection multiplex au niveau unicellulaire de biomarqueurs liés aux métastases cancéreuses.

Le poste est ouvert à l’ institut MICALIS (Université Paris-Saclay, INRAe), une unité de recherche de plus de 350 chercheurs développant des approches multidisciplinaires et promouvant la biologie des systèmes microbiens vers le développement d’applications de la biologie synthétique pour la santé et les biotechnologies. Au sein de MICALIS , l’équipe de recherche en recrutement est spécialisée dans le développement de la biologie synthétique à cellules entières et sans cellules pour l’ingénierie des voies métaboliques et des biocapteurs afin de produire des molécules biologiquement actives et de surveiller les biomarqueurs de la maladie.

La personne recrutée sera responsable de l’ingénierie des voies qui, lors de la détection de biomarqueurs, déclenchent la production de signaux chimiques simultanément détectables avec une sensibilité élevée par diffusion Raman améliorée en surface ( SERS ). Le travail impliquera (i) la conception de voies produisant des molécules détectables par SERS , (ii) l’ingénierie et l’analyse comparative des voies conçues dans une souche d’ E. coli , (iii) l’intégration des voies d’ingénierie avec des dispositifs de biodétection développés par d’autres partenaires du projet de l’UE . Pour réaliser ces tâches, le candidat retenu bénéficiera de plusieurs années d’expérience que l’équipe de recrutement a développées en connectant des dispositifs de biodétection aux voies métaboliques ( //www.jfaulon.com/biosensor/ ).

Profil des candidats :

    • Les candidats doivent avoir un doctorat. diplôme, de préférence avec une expérience post-doctorale, dans un ou plusieurs systèmes et biologie synthétique, ingénierie métabolique ou biologie moléculaire.
    • Les compétences essentielles requises comprennent les protocoles expérimentaux et les techniques analytiques utilisées en biologie synthétique et en biologie moléculaire. Une expérience dans la conception et l’ingénierie de voies métaboliques ou de dispositifs de biodétection est souhaitable.
    • Une capacité à rédiger des manuscrits de recherche de haute qualité, de solides compétences en collaboration et d’excellentes compétences en communication en anglais sont requises.

Le poste est ouvert pour 12 mois (puis renouvelable pour deux années supplémentaires) à partir du 1er avril 2022 . La personne nommée sera embauchée dans le cadre de contrats à durée déterminée conformément à la législation française. Un salaire compétitif sera proposé en fonction des qualifications et de l’expérience.

Pour postuler : Les candidats doivent envoyer un curriculum vitae détaillé, une lettre d’intention expliquant leurs motivations pour le poste et les coordonnées d’au moins deux références. Envoyez vos questions/candidatures à : manish.kushwaha[at]inrae.fr et jean-loup.faulon[at]inrae.fr .

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Bourse de recherche postdoctorale Alfred Deakin 2025 en Australie

Bourse de recherche postdoctorale Alfred Deakin 2025 en Australie La bourse de recherche postdoctorale Alfred …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *