PHD POSITION IN DIMENSIONAL METROLOGY – Leuven, Belgium

Belgium
Posted 2 years ago

The Manufacturing Metrology research group of KU Leuven Department of Mechanical Engineering investigates, develops, optimizes and implements measurement solutions for manufacturing quality control. Our expertise covers surface and 3D coordinate metrology using tactile and optical probes as well as X-ray Computed Tomography (CT). We target Industry 4.0 readiness of measurement solutions by increasing speed, reducing measurement errors, and establishing traceability, to realize in-line and in-process capabilities that intelligently feed back inspection results for of first-time-right and zero-waste manufacturing. We put our expertise and state-of-the-art equipment at the disposal of manufacturing companies to address complex metrology challenges and to improve manufacturing process understanding and performance.

Website unit

Project

You will work in the framework of the SBO-AccuPart project (Production quality assurance via accurate verification of part geometry). To avoid scrap and maximize productivity of the manufacturing processes, geometrical information of components plays a decisive role in job preparation, process control and quality inspection (dimensional tolerances). The objective of AccuPart is to realize an early identification of geometrical information, at a stage during the manufacturing process when the corrective action is still possible without having to reject parts. This project therefore aims to create a framework for systematic in-situ dimensional quality assurance.

In the project you will work closely together with colleagues and companies, where it will be your primary task to develop a robust and reliable optical sensing methodology and system based on fringe projection with emphasis on aspects like the automatic optimizing of scanning angles, self-optimizing scanning and fast dynamic stitching algorithms.

Profile

We are looking for an enthusiastic, creative and collaborative researcher with

  • a MSc in a relevant domain, such as mechanical engineering or physics
  • expertise or active interest in dimensional metrology
  • good communication skills (oral and written)

Offer

  • A funded PhD scholarship
  • An exciting interdisciplinary research environment
  • Work in a team with close collaboration with industry and practical application
  • The possibility to take part in international conferences and collaborations
  • Multiple benefits (health insurance, access to university infrastructure and sports facilities, etc.)

Interested?

For more information please contact Prof. dr. ir. Wim Dewulf, tel.: +32 16 37 28 81, mail: wim.dewulf@kuleuven.be or Prof. dr. Han Haitjema, tel.: +32 16 37 42 83, mail: han.haitjema@kuleuven.be.

You can apply for this job no later than April 15, 2022 via the online application tool

KU Leuven seeks to foster an environment where all talents can flourish, regardless of gender, age, cultural background, nationality or impairments. If you have any questions relating to accessibility or support, please contact us at diversiteit.HR@kuleuven.be.

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research, Doctorat

Apply Online

Check Also

Malta Government Endeavour Scholarship 2024-25 (Apply Now)

The ENDEAVOUR II Scholarships Scheme supports good quality tertiary education at Postgraduate Level both at …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

POSTE DE PHD EN MÉTROLOGIE DIMENSIONNELLE – Louvain , Belgique

Belgique
Publié il y a 2 ans

Le groupe de recherche Manufacturing Metrology du département de génie mécanique de la KU Leuven étudie, développe, optimise et met en œuvre des solutions de mesure pour le contrôle de la qualité de la fabrication. Notre expertise couvre la métrologie de surface et de coordonnées 3D à l’aide de sondes tactiles et optiques ainsi que la tomographie par rayons X (CT). Nous ciblons la préparation des solutions de mesure pour l’industrie 4.0 en augmentant la vitesse, en réduisant les erreurs de mesure et en établissant la traçabilité, afin de réaliser des capacités en ligne et en cours de processus qui renvoient intelligemment les résultats d’inspection pour une fabrication du premier coup et sans déchets. Nous mettons notre expertise et nos équipements de pointe à la disposition des entreprises manufacturières pour relever des défis métrologiques complexes et améliorer la compréhension et la performance des processus de fabrication.

Unité de site Web

Projet

Vous travaillerez dans le cadre du projet SBO-AccuPart (Assurance qualité de la production via une vérification précise de la géométrie des pièces). Pour éviter les rebuts et maximiser la productivité des processus de fabrication, les informations géométriques des composants jouent un rôle décisif dans la préparation des travaux, le contrôle des processus et le contrôle qualité (tolérances dimensionnelles). L’objectif d’AccuPart est de réaliser une identification précoce des informations géométriques, à un stade du processus de fabrication où l’action corrective est encore possible sans avoir à rejeter des pièces. Ce projet vise donc à créer un cadre pour une assurance qualité dimensionnelle in-situ systématique.

Dans le projet, vous travaillerez en étroite collaboration avec des collègues et des entreprises, où votre tâche principale sera de développer une méthodologie et un système de détection optique robustes et fiables basés sur la projection de franges en mettant l’accent sur des aspects tels que l’optimisation automatique des angles de balayage, l’auto-optimisation algorithmes de numérisation et d’assemblage dynamique rapide.

Profil

Nous recherchons un chercheur enthousiaste, créatif et collaboratif avec

  • une maîtrise dans un domaine pertinent, tel que le génie mécanique ou la physique
  • expertise ou intérêt actif pour la métrologie dimensionnelle
  • bonnes capacités de communication (orale et écrite)

Offrir

  • Une bourse doctorale financée
  • Un environnement de recherche interdisciplinaire passionnant
  • Travailler en équipe avec une collaboration étroite avec l’industrie et l’application pratique
  • La possibilité de participer à des conférences et collaborations internationales
  • De multiples avantages (assurance maladie, accès aux infrastructures universitaires et aux installations sportives, etc.)

Intéressé?

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez contacter le Prof. dr. ir. Wim Dewulf, tél. : +32 16 37 28 81, mail : wim.dewulf@kuleuven.be ou Prof. dr. Han Haitjema, tél. : +32 16 37 42 83, mail : han.haitjema@kuleuven.be.

Vous pouvez postuler à cet emploi au plus tard le 15 avril 2022 via l’ outil de candidature en ligne

La KU Leuven cherche à favoriser un environnement où tous les talents peuvent s’épanouir, quels que soient leur sexe, leur âge, leur origine culturelle, leur nationalité ou leurs handicaps. Si vous avez des questions concernant l’accessibilité ou le support, veuillez nous contacter à diversiteit.HR@kuleuven.be.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique, Doctorat

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Découverte de Particules de Plastique dans les Testicules Humains : Une Menace pour la Fertilité Masculine

Introduction Des scientifiques ont découvert des concentrations importantes de microplastiques dans les tissus testiculaires humains, …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *