Post-doc position in the Polish National Science Centre project

Poland
Posted 2 years ago

Requirements:

– PhD diploma

– great enthusiasm for work and science in general

– track record of scientific publications

– experience in laboratory work

– ability to carry out statistical large-scale analyses

– very good knowledge of English both oral and writing

Task description:

Brief description of the project: The Arctic is warming twice as fast as other parts of the world, causing the ice sheet to disappear rapidly. The region is considered to be one of the fastest changing systems on Earth. The disappearance of sea ice due to global warming leads to higher pCO2 values ​​in the surface waters of the Arctic Ocean, decreased calcium carbonate (CaCO3) saturation as well as increased biological production. These changes have and will have a profound impact on the carbon cycle not only in the Arctic Ocean but also globally. These changes will affect the balance of carbon sequestration and release from the seas and oceans. The proposed project will use this model system for the project focusing on a comprehensive assessment of the impact of changes on ecosystems.

In addition to many investigations related to the physicochemical elements of the environment, such as factors controlling the chemistry of water masses and the broadly speaking environmental background, the project will also study the factors controlling mineralogy and the chemistry of marine organisms carbonate skeletons. The proposed project aims to solve the global problem of the influence of increased CO2 concentration in the ocean and the associated fluctuations of carbonate ions on the biodiversity of marine invertebrates. The study will take place in contrasting environments characterized by variable physicochemical parameters, e.g. changing CaCO3 saturation, different strength of sea currents, salinity, temperature. The project will generate wide range of unique data. Especially designed sampling protocol in environments with naturally occurring variations in carbonates saturation levels and environmental factors in general (e.g. polar night versus polar day, seaweed forest versus non-seaweed regions, depth gradient) will allow to perform many analyzes including: chemical and mineralogical variability of skeletons carbonate, the level of biological control of the skeletal structures of Arctic organisms, the role of kelp forest in shaping the physicochemical or biological environment, variability of conditions within the contrasting polar seasons and their impact on selected elements of the living part of environment.

The project is looking for an enthusiastic and creative scientist who will explore the data generated by the project or will generate data herself/himself based on the project’s possibilities, creating unique knowledge. The project will be willing to adapt to the vision of a good candidate.

Description of tasks required from the candidate during the project: additionally, to the above formal requirements, the candidate is expected to be involved in field work, have knowledge about marine systems, laboratory work leading to the preparation of biological material for various purposes, potentially geochemical analyzes, knowledge of data analysis and visualization techniques, knowledge of the R and Python programming environment is welcomed, the ability to analyse data related to biodiversity, the ability to work independently, as well as the ability to work in a team, high creativity and critical thinking skills, communication and interpersonal skills.

What is funded

Full-time fixed-term employment contract (36 months) at the Marine Ecology Department in the Institute of Oceanology Polish Academy of Sciences in Sopot.

A salary of approx. 8 300 PLN gross per month (approx. 6 500 PLN netto per month).

Job offer for a scientist within the framework of the OPUS program of the National Centre for Science project entitled “Influence of rapidly progressing climate change on polar marine organisms – investigations along naturally occurring environmental analogues of future climate changes” (ANALOG), project number: UMO-2020/37/B/ST10/02905.

Duration

A period of up to 36 months

Eligibility

Additional questions can be sent to the project PI: Prof. Piotr Kukliński (kuki@iopan.pl)

Results of the job application procedure will be announced at 2022-04-30. We will contact selected candidates by phone or e-mail.

Required documents:

1) motivation letter

2) detailed CV

3) confirmation of PhD

4) consent clause*

Required documents should be sent by e-mail to: rekrutacja@iopan.pl and to the project PI: Prof. Piotr Kukliński (kuki@iopan.pl) with message title “Post-doc – ANALOG”

*Please attach a signed document with the following consent clause:

I hereby consent to have my personal data processed by the Institute of Oceanology Polish Academy of Science pursuant to Article 6 paragraph 1 letter a of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), for the purpose of carrying out a recruitment process for the Post-doc position I also declare that I have read the information on the processing of personal data provided by the Institute in accordance with Article 13 GDPR.

…………………….  …………………………………….

(place and date) (signature of the declarant)

INFORMATION ON THE PROCESSING OF PERSONAL DATA:

https://old.iopan.pl/praca/INFORMATION_ON_THE_PROCESSING_OF_PERSONAL_DATA.pdf

More Information

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research, Postdoctoral

Apply Online

Check Also

Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Fellowship 2025 in Australia

Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Fellowship 2025 in Australia The Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellowship is a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Poste de post-doc dans le projet du Centre national des sciences polonais

Pologne
Publié il y a 2 ans

Conditions:

– Diplôme de doctorat

– un grand enthousiasme pour le travail et la science en général

– historique des publications scientifiques

– expérience en travail de laboratoire

– capacité à effectuer des analyses statistiques à grande échelle

– très bonne connaissance de l’anglais tant à l’oral qu’à l’écrit

Description de la tâche:

Brève description du projet : L’Arctique se réchauffe deux fois plus vite que d’autres parties du monde, entraînant la disparition rapide de la calotte glaciaire. La région est considérée comme l’un des systèmes qui évoluent le plus rapidement sur Terre. La disparition de la glace de mer due au réchauffement climatique entraîne une augmentation des valeurs de pCO 2 dans les eaux de surface de l’océan Arctique, une diminution du carbonate de calcium (CaCO 3) saturation ainsi qu’une augmentation de la production biologique. Ces changements ont et auront un impact profond sur le cycle du carbone non seulement dans l’océan Arctique mais aussi à l’échelle mondiale. Ces changements affecteront l’équilibre de la séquestration et du rejet de carbone par les mers et les océans. Le projet proposé utilisera ce système modèle pour le projet axé sur une évaluation complète de l’impact des changements sur les écosystèmes.

En plus de nombreuses investigations liées aux éléments physico-chimiques de l’environnement, tels que les facteurs contrôlant la chimie des masses d’eau et le fond environnemental au sens large, le projet étudiera également les facteurs contrôlant la minéralogie et la chimie des squelettes carbonatés des organismes marins. Le projet proposé vise à résoudre le problème global de l’influence de l’augmentation de la concentration de CO 2 dans l’océan et des fluctuations associées des ions carbonate sur la biodiversité des invertébrés marins. L’étude se déroulera dans des environnements contrastés caractérisés par des paramètres physico-chimiques variables, par exemple l’évolution de CaCO 3saturation, force différente des courants marins, salinité, température. Le projet générera un large éventail de données uniques. Un protocole d’échantillonnage spécialement conçu dans des environnements présentant des variations naturelles des niveaux de saturation en carbonates et des facteurs environnementaux en général (par exemple, nuit polaire versus jour polaire, forêt d’algues versus régions sans algues, gradient de profondeur) permettra d’effectuer de nombreuses analyses, notamment : la variabilité chimique et minéralogique des squelettes carbonatés, le niveau de contrôle biologique des structures squelettiques des organismes arctiques, le rôle de la forêt de varech dans la formation de l’environnement physico-chimique ou biologique, la variabilité des conditions au cours des saisons polaires contrastées et leur impact sur certains éléments de la partie vivante de l’environnement .

Le projet recherche un scientifique enthousiaste et créatif qui explorera les données générées par le projet ou générera lui-même des données en fonction des possibilités du projet, créant ainsi des connaissances uniques. Le projet sera prêt à s’adapter à la vision d’un bon candidat.

Description des tâches demandées au candidat au cours du projet : en plus des exigences formelles ci-dessus, le candidat doit être impliqué dans des travaux de terrain, avoir des connaissances sur les systèmes marins, des travaux de laboratoire menant à la préparation de matériel biologique à des fins diverses, potentiellement analyses géochimiques, connaissance des techniques d’analyse et de visualisation de données, la connaissance de l’environnement de programmation R et Python est appréciée, la capacité d’analyser des données liées à la biodiversité, la capacité de travailler de manière autonome, ainsi que la capacité de travailler en équipe, une grande créativité et des compétences en pensée critique, en communication et en relations interpersonnelles.

Ce qui est financé

Contrat de travail à durée déterminée à temps plein (36 mois) au département d’écologie marine de l’Institut d’océanologie de l’Académie polonaise des sciences à Sopot.

Un salaire d’env. 8 300 PLN brut par mois (environ 6 500 PLN net par mois).

Offre d’emploi pour un scientifique dans le cadre du programme OPUS du projet du National Center for Science intitulé « Influence of rapid progressing climate change on polar marine organizations – investigations along natural happening environment analogs of future climate changes » (ANALOG), numéro de projet : UMO-2020/37/B/ST10/02905.

Durée

Une période allant jusqu’à 36 mois

Admissibilité

Des questions supplémentaires peuvent être envoyées au PI du projet : Prof. Piotr Kukliński ( kuki@iopan.pl )

Les résultats de la procédure de candidature seront annoncés le 2022-04-30. Nous contacterons les candidats sélectionnés par téléphone ou par e-mail.

Documents requis:

1) lettre de motivation

2) CV détaillé

3) confirmation du doctorat

4) clause de consentement*

Les documents requis doivent être envoyés par e-mail à : rekrutacja@iopan.pl et au PI du projet : Prof. Piotr Kukliński ( kuki@iopan.pl ) avec le titre du message « Post-doc – ANALOG »

*Veuillez joindre un document signé avec la clause de consentement suivante :

Je consens par la présente au traitement de mes données personnelles par l’Institut d’océanologie de l’Académie polonaise des sciences conformément à l’article 6, paragraphe 1, lettre a, du règlement général sur la protection des données (RGPD), dans le but de mener à bien un processus de recrutement pour le Post-doc Je déclare également avoir pris connaissance des informations sur le traitement des données personnelles fournies par l’Institut conformément à l’article 13 du RGPD.

……………………. ……………………. ………………

(lieu et date) (signature du déclarant)

INFORMATIONS SUR LE TRAITEMENT DES DONNÉES PERSONNELLES :

https://old.iopan.pl/praca/INFORMATION_ON_THE_PROCESSING_OF_PERSONAL_DATA.pdf

Plus d’information

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique, Postdoctoral

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Découverte de Particules de Plastique dans les Testicules Humains : Une Menace pour la Fertilité Masculine

Introduction Des scientifiques ont découvert des concentrations importantes de microplastiques dans les tissus testiculaires humains, …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *