Two years post-doctoral position in quantitative environmental geography/geomatics Montpellier, France

France
Posted 1 year ago

International Centre for Advanced Mediterranean Agronomic Studies Mediterranean Agronomic Institute of Montpellier (CIHEAM-IAMM)

The Mediterranean Agronomic Institute of Montpellier (CIHEAM Montpellier), one of the four institutes of the International Centre for Advanced Mediterranean Agronomic Studies (CIHEAM), is an intergovernmental organization whose mission is the development of higher education and lifelong learning, research and cooperation in the Mediterranean area. Within the scope of the GRANULAR project, CIHEAM Montpellier is looking for a postdoctoral researcher to develop novel indicators and to conduct analyses related to climate neutrality and food systems in EU rural areas.

CONTEXT

GRANULAR (Giving Rural Actors Novel data and re-Useable tools to Lead public Action in Rural areas) is a newly awarded project under the Horizon Europe programme gathering 23 European partners (academic institutes, international organisations, NGOs, rural networks, and local authorities).

This four-year project will generate new insights for characterising rural diversity based on a multi-actor and interdisciplinary approach. Insights from Multi-Actor Labs (MALs) will help modellers to generate novel datasets using a wide range of methods and data, such as remote sensing, crowd-sourced data, mobile phone data and web scraping. This will then be combined with a variety of existing institutional data to derive indicators to measure resilience, well-being, quality of life and attractiveness in rural areas.

GRANULAR will directly contribute to the JRC Rural Observatory and will support concrete policies (both at local and EU levels), by informing rural action with the opportunities and requirements in terms of data-collection methods and indicator development to enhance and support the co-creation and co-learning with multiple actors in rural areas. After ensuring the scalability of the results, datasets, data visualisation and other tools will be made available on a dedicated platform designed by, and for, rural actors and rural policy-makers.

ROLE

The postdoctoral researcher will contribute to developing conceptual frameworks and to derive spatially-explicit indicators and metrics[1] on climate-neutrality of rural communities and on territorial food systems. The aim is to develop frameworks capable of linking different scales (conceptually) and of connecting spatial datasets and indicators to support spatially explicit decision-making in rural areas.

1) Building on existing literature [1, 2, 3, 4], the postdoc will develop a framework with quantitative metrics and indicators to grasp climate-neutrality for rural communities. The framework will consider: (i) ecological resilience (connectivity, ecological corridors, landscape metrics), climate flows and biodiversity; (ii) environmental performance (energy, emissions, planning); and (iii) climate exposure to hazards (fires, floods). To this end, we will leverage different spatial datasets (novel, pre-existing or coming from GRANULAR partners) to derive novel indicators, to which we will apply pattern analysis methods to generate a broader indicator.

2) Building on existing literature [5, 6] and in collaboration with a PhD student, the postdoc will develop a quantitative framework to assess food system sustainability and to define their spatial footprint. The integrated approach will analyse production models, processing and distribution to match local demand, including health-related indicators.

The main tasks of the research will be:

  • Compile datasets relevant for climate-neutrality and food systems across EU-27 (includes compilation of Land Parcel Identification Systems).
  • Develop quantitative frameworks for analysing climate-neutrality and food systems, considering both local and EU levels for indicators
  • Generate indicators, analyses (statistical modelling) and analyse the results of creating maps for several concepts that are relevant for rural areas (at the local level with Living-Labs, and at EU level with JRC/DG-AGRI/DG-REGIO).

The work will be held within the Joint Research Unit TETIS. You will be working mainly with Tristan Berchoux (IAMM), Paolo Prosperi (IAMM) and Carlos Tapia (Nordregio), with other potential international collaborations (Joint Research Centre, Wageningen University, IIASA, Thünen Institute).

ACTIVITIES AND TASKS

  • Lead quantitative spatial analyses within the GRANULAR project;
  • Design and develop novel frameworks, indicators and tools for spatially-explicit decision-making in rural areas (+ downscaling/upscaling across different territories across EU);
  • Possibility to calibrate and validate generated data with data collected in-situ by Living Labs through citizen science (led by IIASA);
  • Contribution to the writing of reports and scientific papers;
  • Presentation of results within the project and towards the larger scientific community;
  • Contribution to the coordination of the project (led by IAMM).

REQUIREMENTS

The postdoctoral researcher must meet the following requirements:

  • Background: PhD in quantitative environmental geography or similar.
  • Skills: good knowledge in QGIS, scientific programming in R, statistical analysis and modelling, ideally knowledge on Earth Observation.
  • Dynamic and collaborative team player, autonomous, proactive and rigorous.
  • Excellent English oral and written communication.

JOB SPECIFICATIONS

  • Starting date: April 2023
  • Contract duration: fixed term contract of 12 months once renewable
  • Full-time (37,5h per week), remote work possible 2 days a week
  • 8 weeks annual leave
  • Salary: gross monthly salary ranging between 2000€ and 2400€ based on experience
  • Location: IAMM (Montpellier) with occasional travels in different EU member states

SELECTION PROCESS

The application must be written in English and include a CV and a cover letter concerning the scientific activities defined in the job description.

Closing date of the call for applications: 10 April 2023

The application file must be sent by email with the following object “[GRANULAR] (WP4) QuantGeo Post-doctoral Vacancy” to the following address: emploi@iamm.fr

Please contact Tristan Berchoux (berchoux@iamm.fr) for any question regarding the position and the scientific missions.

[1] Bradfer-Lawrence T., et al. (2021). The potential contribution of terrestrial nature-based solutions to a national ‘net zero’ climate target. Journal of Applied Ecology. https://doi.org/10.1111/1365-2664.14003

[2] Gumucio T., et al. (2020). Gender-responsive rural climate services: a review of the literature. Climate and Development. https://doi.org/10.1080/17565529.2019.1613216

[3] Bausch T., Koziol K. (2020). New Policy Approaches for Increasing Response to Climate Change in Small Rural Municipalities. https://doi.org/10.3390/su12051894

[4] OECD’s Rural Agenda for Climate Action. https://www.oecd.org/regional/rural-development/Rural-Agenda-for-Climate-Action.pdf

[5] Allen T., Prosperi P. (2016). Modeling Sustainable Food Systems. Environmental Management. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00267-016-0664-8

[6] Vicente-Vicente J., et al. (2021). Foodshed, Agricultural Diversification and Self-Sufficiency Assessment: Beyond the Isotropic Circle Foodshed. Agriculture. https://doi.org/10.3390/agriculture11020143

[1] e.g. FORO (https://apps.tereval.fr/foro/#/); ESPON TIA tool (https://tiatool.espon.eu/); CRATER (https://crater.resiliencealimentaire.org/)

Job Features

Job CategoryPostdoctoral

Apply Online

Check Also

Discovery of Plastic Particles in Human Testicles: A Threat to Male Fertility

Introduction Scientists have discovered significant concentrations of microplastics in human testicular tissues, raising concerns about …

Poste post-doctoral de deux ans en géographie/géomatique environnementale quantitative – Montpellier , France

France
Publié il y a 1 an

Centre International de Hautes Etudes Agronomiques Méditerranéennes Institut Agronomique Méditerranéen de Montpellier (CIHEAM-IAMM)

L’Institut Agronomique Méditerranéen de Montpellier (CIHEAM Montpellier), l’un des quatre instituts du Centre International de Hautes Etudes Agronomiques Méditerranéennes (CIHEAM), est une organisation intergouvernementale dont la mission est le développement de l’enseignement supérieur et de la formation tout au long de la vie, la recherche et la coopération dans le zone méditerranéenne. Dans le cadre du projet GRANULAR, le CIHEAM Montpellier recherche un chercheur postdoctoral pour développer de nouveaux indicateurs et mener des analyses liées à la neutralité climatique et aux systèmes alimentaires dans les zones rurales de l’UE.

CONTEXTE

GRANULAR (Giving Rural Actors Novel data and re-Useable tools to Lead public Action in Rural areas) est un projet nouvellement récompensé dans le cadre du programme Horizon Europe rassemblant 23 partenaires européens (instituts académiques, organisations internationales, ONG, réseaux ruraux et autorités locales) .

Ce projet de quatre ans générera de nouvelles perspectives pour caractériser la diversité rurale basée sur une approche multi-acteurs et interdisciplinaire. Les informations des laboratoires multi-acteurs (MAL) aideront les modélisateurs à générer de nouveaux ensembles de données à l’aide d’un large éventail de méthodes et de données, telles que la télédétection, les données participatives, les données de téléphonie mobile et le grattage Web. Celles-ci seront ensuite combinées avec une variété de données institutionnelles existantes pour dériver des indicateurs permettant de mesurer la résilience, le bien-être, la qualité de vie et l’attractivité dans les zones rurales.

GRANULAR contribuera directement à l’Observatoire rural du JRC et soutiendra des politiques concrètes (au niveau local et européen), en informant l’action rurale des opportunités et des exigences en termes de méthodes de collecte de données et de développement d’indicateurs pour améliorer et soutenir la co-création et co-apprentissage avec de multiples acteurs dans les zones rurales. Après avoir assuré l’évolutivité des résultats, les ensembles de données, la visualisation des données et d’autres outils seront mis à disposition sur une plateforme dédiée conçue par et pour les acteurs ruraux et les décideurs politiques ruraux.

RÔLE

Le chercheur postdoctoral contribuera à développer des cadres conceptuels et à dériver des indicateurs et des métriques spatialement explicites [1]  sur la neutralité climatique des communautés rurales et sur les systèmes alimentaires territoriaux. L’objectif est de développer des cadres capables de relier différentes échelles (conceptuellement) et de connecter des ensembles de données spatiales et des indicateurs pour soutenir la prise de décision spatialement explicite dans les zones rurales.

1) En s’appuyant sur la littérature existante [1, 2, 3, 4], le postdoc développera un cadre avec des mesures et des indicateurs quantitatifs pour appréhender la neutralité climatique des communautés rurales. Le cadre prendra en compte : (i) la résilience écologique (connectivité, corridors écologiques, métriques paysagères), les flux climatiques et la biodiversité ; (ii) performance environnementale (énergie, émissions, planification) ; et (iii) l’exposition climatique aux aléas (incendies, inondations). À cette fin, nous tirerons parti de différents ensembles de données spatiales (nouveaux, préexistants ou provenant de partenaires GRANULAR) pour dériver de nouveaux indicateurs, auxquels nous appliquerons des méthodes d’analyse de modèles pour générer un indicateur plus large.

2) En s’appuyant sur la littérature existante [5, 6] et en collaboration avec un doctorant, le postdoc développera un cadre quantitatif pour évaluer la durabilité des systèmes alimentaires et définir leur empreinte spatiale. L’approche intégrée analysera les modèles de production, de transformation et de distribution pour répondre à la demande locale, y compris les indicateurs liés à la santé.

Les tâches principales de la recherche seront :

  • Compiler des ensembles de données pertinents pour la neutralité climatique et les systèmes alimentaires dans l’UE-27 (comprend la compilation des systèmes d’identification des parcelles de terre).
  • Élaborer des cadres quantitatifs pour analyser la neutralité climatique et les systèmes alimentaires, en tenant compte à la fois des niveaux local et européen pour les indicateurs
  • Générer des indicateurs, des analyses (modélisation statistique) et analyser les résultats de la création de cartes pour plusieurs concepts pertinents pour les zones rurales (au niveau local avec Living-Labs, et au niveau européen avec JRC/DG-AGRI/DG-REGIO).

Les travaux se dérouleront au sein de l’UMR TETIS. Vous travaillerez principalement avec Tristan Berchoux (IAMM), Paolo Prosperi (IAMM) et Carlos Tapia (Nordregio), avec d’autres collaborations internationales potentielles (Joint Research Centre, Wageningen University, IIASA, Thünen Institute).

ACTIVITÉS ET TÂCHES

  • Diriger des analyses spatiales quantitatives au sein du projet GRANULAR ;
  • Concevoir et développer de nouveaux cadres, indicateurs et outils pour la prise de décision spatialement explicite dans les zones rurales (+ downscaling/upscaling sur différents territoires à travers l’UE) ;
  • Possibilité de calibrer et de valider les données générées avec les données collectées in situ par les Living Labs grâce à la science citoyenne (dirigée par l’IIASA) ;
  • Contribution à la rédaction de rapports et d’articles scientifiques;
  • Présentation des résultats au sein du projet et à l’ensemble de la communauté scientifique ;
  • Contribution à la coordination du projet (mené par l’IAMM).

EXIGENCES

Le chercheur postdoctoral doit répondre aux exigences suivantes :

  • Formation : Doctorat en géographie environnementale quantitative ou similaire.
  • Compétences : bonne connaissance en QGIS, programmation scientifique en R, analyse statistique et modélisation, idéalement connaissance en Observation de la Terre.
  • Esprit d’équipe dynamique et collaboratif, autonome, proactif et rigoureux.
  • Excellente communication orale et écrite en anglais.

SPÉCIFICATIONS DU POSTE

  • Date de début : avril 2023
  • Durée du contrat : contrat à durée déterminée de 12 mois renouvelable une fois
  • Temps plein (37,5h par semaine), travail à distance possible 2 jours par semaine
  • 8 semaines de congé annuel
  • Salaire : salaire mensuel brut compris entre 2000€ et 2400€ selon expérience
  • Localisation : IAMM (Montpellier) avec déplacements occasionnels dans différents états membres de l’UE

PROCESSUS DE SÉLECTION

La candidature doit être rédigée en anglais et comporter un CV et une lettre de motivation concernant les activités scientifiques définies dans le descriptif de poste.

Date de clôture de l’appel à candidatures : 10 avril 2023

Le dossier de candidature doit être envoyé par mail avec pour objet « [GRANULAR] (WP4) Offre Post-doctorale QuantGeo » à l’adresse suivante :  emploi@iamm.fr

Merci de contacter Tristan Berchoux ( berchoux@iamm.fr ) pour toute question concernant le poste et les missions scientifiques.

[1] Bradfer-Lawrence T., et al. (2021). La contribution potentielle des solutions basées sur la nature terrestre à un objectif climatique national « net zéro ». Journal d’écologie appliquée. https://doi.org/10.1111/1365-2664.14003

[2] Gumucio T., et al. (2020). Services climatiques ruraux sensibles au genre : une revue de la littérature. Climat et Développement. https://doi.org/10.1080/17565529.2019.1613216

[3] Bausch T., Koziol K. (2020). Nouvelles approches politiques pour accroître la réponse au changement climatique dans les petites municipalités rurales. https://doi.org/10.3390/su12051894

[4] Programme rural de l’OCDE pour l’action climatique. https://www.oecd.org/regional/rural-development/Rural-Agenda-for-Climate-Action.pdf

[5] Allen T., Prosperi P. (2016). Modélisation de systèmes alimentaires durables. Gestion de l’environnement. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00267-016-0664-8 _

[6] Vicente-Vicente J., et al. (2021). Bassin alimentaire, diversification agricole et évaluation de l’autosuffisance : au-delà du cercle isotrope Foodshed. Agriculture. https://doi.org/10.3390/agriculture11020143

[1] par exemple FORO ( https://apps.tereval.fr/foro/#/ ) ; Outil ESPON TIA ( https://tiatool.espon.eu/ ); CRATÈRE ( https://crater.resiliencealimentaire.org/ )

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiPostdoctoral

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

bourse Harvard LEAD 2024-2025 pour la promotion des femmes dans les applications de santé mondiale

La bourse LEAD 2024-2025, une bourse d’un an conçue pour développer les compétences en leadership …