Post-doctoral position : beamline DEIMOS Saint-Aubin, France

France
Posted 1 year ago

SOLEIL is the French national synchrotron facility, located on the Saclay Plateau near Paris. It is a multi-disciplinary instrument and research laboratory whose mission is to conduct research using synchrotron radiation, to develop cutting edge instrumentation on the beamlines, and to make these developments available to the scientific community. SOLEIL synchrotron, a unique tool for both academic research and industrial applications across a wide range of disciplines including physics, biology, chemistry etc., opened in 2008. It is used annually by thousands researchers from France and abroad. SOLEIL is based on a synchrotron source that is state-of-the-art both in terms of brilliance and stability. This large scale facility, a partner of the Université Paris Saclay, is a “publically owned” private company, founded by the CNRS and the CEA.

Synchrotron SOLEIL has an opening for a post-doctoral position on the DEIMOS (Dichroism Experimental Installation for Magneto-Optical Spectroscopy, www.synchrotron-soleil.fr/en/beamlines/deimos) beamline. The DEIMOS beamline is devoted to absorption and dichroic measurements in the 350-2500 eV energy range and has a long-standing expertise in the development on low temperature and high magnetic field devices. Our latest achievement is a 3He-4He dilution refrigerator developed to reach sub-Kelvin temperature while performing XAS measurements in the soft energy range. We have also started to study the characteristics of a completely new cryogen-free end-station for ultra-low temperatures. The desired postdoctoral candidate will participate to the aspects of commissioning / development of these unique instruments. Moreover, his/her research activity should make good use of these specific sample environments and in particular the ultra-low temperatures (for instance on the subject of molecular magnetism or strongly correlated systems).

I.Missions

  • You will be involved in both the instrumental and scientific program of the DEIMOS beamline. Your main scientific mission is developing an original research program using the unique capabilities of the ultra-low temperatures. In addition, possibilities are offered to join existing collaborations with different European laboratories. Your contribution on the instrumentation will focus on the existing dilution refrigerator and the new project of development of complete cryogen-free end-station dedicated to ultra-low temperatures  and high magnetic field.
  • As a beamline scientist within the Experimental Division, you will be part of the DEIMOS beamline team under the coordination of the beamline leader. The beamline team manages the DEIMOS beamline for user operations and you will have primary “local contact” responsibility for a portion of the scheduled user beam time. This assistance to users imposes some on-call duty periods (typically 1 week per month of beam including the weekend) and may require, in case of need, on-site interventions outside regular working hours.

   II. Experience required

The candidate should hold a Ph.D. or equivalent degree in Physics, Materials Science, Chemistry or a related discipline. Previous experience in a synchrotron radiation center will be greatly appreciated.

The following aspects will be considered with the greatest attention:

  • Proven knowledge of X-ray absorption and magnetism ;
  • Expertise in cryogenic devices ;
  • Expertise in UHV in situ facilities (MBE, STM, electron spectroscopies, electron diffraction…) ;
  • Capability in developing complex experimental equipment ;
  • Demonstrated experience in organizing the activity at shared experimental facilities ;
  • Background in programming and in the writing of computational codes in python for the data treatment ;

The candidate must be fluent in English (written and spoken). Knowledge of French is also desirable but not mandatory and lessons are offered to non-native speakers.

III. General condition

The offer concerns a 1-year position, renewable 1 year. At least one letter of recommendation is required.

Job Features

Job CategoryPostdoctoral

Apply Online

Check Also

How Your Sleep Can Reveal Your Health: Warning Signs to Watch For

Your sleep is a valuable indicator of your overall health. Experts warn against certain nighttime …

Poste post-doctoral : ligne de lumière DEIMOS – Saint Aubin , France

France
Publié il y a 10 mois

SOLEIL est le synchrotron national français, situé sur le plateau de Saclay près de Paris. C’est un laboratoire pluridisciplinaire d’instrumentation et de recherche dont la mission est de mener des recherches utilisant le rayonnement synchrotron, de développer une instrumentation de pointe sur les lignes de lumière et de mettre ces développements à la disposition de la communauté scientifique. Le synchrotron SOLEIL, outil unique pour la recherche académique et les applications industrielles dans un large éventail de disciplines telles que la physique, la biologie, la chimie, etc., a ouvert ses portes en 2008. Il est utilisé chaque année par des milliers de chercheurs français et étrangers. SOLEIL s’appuie sur une source synchrotron à la pointe de la technologie tant en termes de brillance que de stabilité. Cette grande installation, partenaire de l’Université Paris Saclay, est une entreprise privée « publique », fondée par le CNRS et le CEA.

Le synchrotron SOLEIL ouvre un poste de post-doctorant sur la ligne de lumière DEIMOS (Dichroism Experimental Installation for Magneto-Optical Spectroscopy, www.synchrotron-soleil.fr/en/beamlines/deimos). Le DEIMOSLa ligne de lumière est dédiée aux mesures d’absorption et dichroïques dans la gamme d’énergie 350-2500 eV et possède une expertise de longue date dans le développement de dispositifs à basse température et à champ magnétique élevé. Notre dernière réalisation est un réfrigérateur à dilution 3He-4He développé pour atteindre une température inférieure à Kelvin tout en effectuant des mesures XAS dans la plage d’énergie douce. Nous avons également commencé à étudier les caractéristiques d’une toute nouvelle station terminale sans cryogène pour les températures ultra-basses. Le candidat postdoctoral recherché participera aux aspects de mise en service / développement de ces instruments uniques. De plus, son activité de recherche devra faire bon usage de ces environnements d’échantillons spécifiques et en particulier des températures ultra-basses (par exemple au sujet du magnétisme moléculaire ou des systèmes fortement corrélés).

I.Missions

  • Vous serez impliqué à la fois dans le programme instrumental et scientifique de la ligne de lumière DEIMOS. Votre mission scientifique principale est de développer un programme de recherche original utilisant les capacités uniques des ultra-basses températures. De plus, des possibilités sont offertes pour rejoindre des collaborations existantes avec différents laboratoires européens. Votre contribution sur l’instrumentation se concentrera sur le réfrigérateur à dilution existant et le nouveau projet de développement d’une station terminale complète sans cryogène dédiée aux ultra-basses températures et aux champs magnétiques élevés.
  • En tant que scientifique ligne de lumière au sein de la Division Expérimentale, vous ferez partie de l’ équipe ligne de lumière DEIMOS sous la coordination du responsable de la ligne de lumière. L’équipe de la ligne de lumière gère la ligne de lumière DEIMOS pour les opérations des utilisateurs et vous aurez la responsabilité principale du « contact local » pour une partie du temps de faisceau utilisateur programmé. Cette assistance aux usagers impose des astreintes (typiquement 1 semaine par mois de faisceau y compris le week-end) et peut nécessiter, en cas de besoin, des interventions sur site en dehors des heures normales de travail.

   II. Expérience requise

Le candidat doit être titulaire d’un doctorat. ou diplôme équivalent en physique, science des matériaux, chimie ou dans une discipline connexe. Une première expérience dans un centre de rayonnement synchrotron sera grandement appréciée.

Les aspects suivants seront considérés avec la plus grande attention :

  • Connaissance avérée de l’absorption des rayons X et du magnétisme ;
  • Expertise en dispositifs cryogéniques ;
  • Expertise des installations UHV in situ (MBE, STM, spectroscopies électroniques, diffraction électronique…) ;
  • Capacité à développer des équipements expérimentaux complexes ;
  • Expérience démontrée dans l’organisation de l’activité dans des installations expérimentales partagées ;
  • Formation en programmation et en écriture de codes de calcul en python pour le traitement de données ;

Le candidat doit maîtriser l’anglais (écrit et parlé). La connaissance du français est également souhaitable mais pas obligatoire et des cours sont proposés aux locuteurs non natifs.

III. Conditions générales

L’offre concerne un poste de 1 an, renouvelable 1 an. Au moins une lettre de recommandation est requise.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiPostdoctoral

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

bourse Harvard LEAD 2024-2025 pour la promotion des femmes dans les applications de santé mondiale

La bourse LEAD 2024-2025, une bourse d’un an conçue pour développer les compétences en leadership …