Postdoctoral Training Fellow – Gene Function (Prof Chris Lord) (ID:155) – London, United Kingdom

United Kingdom
Posted 2 years ago

Salary: 

Starting salary is in the range of £38,607 to £41,718 per annum inclusive dependent on relevant postdoctoral experience. Future progression is based on annual performance review. If the candidate has not yet been awarded their PhD, the starting salary will be at £32,844 until the successful completion of their viva.

Duration of Contract: Fixed Term for 3 years 

Hours per week: 35 hours per week (Full Time)

Closing Date: 10th April 2022

Job Details

Summary of Role
This position is based in the Gene Function Team (PI Prof. Chris Lord) at the ICR in Chelsea, Central London.

We are seeking a creative and motivated Postdoctoral Training Fellow to study the emergence, prevention and treatment of PARP inhibitor resistance in breast and ovarian cancer. PARP inhibitor resistance can emerge via a number of routes, but the most well-described clinical mechanism is via reversion mutations that restore the function of BRCA1/2 (Pettitt et al.Cancer Discovery 2020; reversions.icr.ac.uk).

The proposed project aims to experimentally characterise BRCA reversion mutations, to determine whether certain pathogenic mutations confer different risks of reversion, and whether genetic background, treatment regime or other interventions can modify reversion risk. This will entail the use of high throughput “tiling” CRISPR mutagenesis (Pettitt et al. Nat Comms 2018), insights from computational analysis of reversions (Pettitt et al. Cancer Discovery 2021) and small molecule DDR inhibitors which may modulate reversion development (Zatreanu et al. Nat Comms 2021). Models used will include cell lines, PDXPDO and syngeneic mouse models, as well as analysis of sequencing data from human biopsies and ctDNA. The post would suit a candidate with strong CRISPR functional genomics, high throughput cell culture and/or DDR experience.

The ICR has a workforce agreement stating that Postdoctoral Training Fellows can only be employed for up to 7 years as PDTF at the ICR, providing total postdoctoral experience (including previous employment at this level elsewhere) does not exceed 10 years

Department/Directorate Information:

The Gene Function Laboratory, led by Prof. Chris Lord, focuses upon identifying and understanding tumour specific dependencies, such as synthetic lethal effects, as a means to design novel approaches to treating cancer. We have made major advances in identifying synthetic lethal interactions involving, for example, PARP inhibitors (Farmer et al Nature (2005), Edwards et al Nature (2008), Bajrami et al, Cancer Research (2014)), ATR inhibitors (Williamson et al, Nature Communications (2016)) and ROS1 inhibitors (Bajrami et al, Cancer Discovery (2018)). We aim to generate pre-clinical information that can inform the design of clinical trials and the identification of novel targets for drug discovery programmes.

The Breast Cancer Now Toby Robins Research Centre at the ICR is the first centre in the UK entirely devoted to breast cancer research. Our goal is to advance research into the causes, diagnosis and treatment of breast cancer.

We encourage all applicants to access the job pack attached for more detailed information regarding this role. For an informal discussion regarding the role, please contact stephen.pettitt@icr.ac.uk

About The Institute of Cancer Research

Why work for us?

As a member of staff, you’ll have exclusive access to a range of staff benefits.

The ICR is committed to supporting overseas applicants applying for roles, please click here to find out further information.

The Institute of Cancer Research, London, is one of the world’s most influential cancer research institutes, with an outstanding record of achievement dating back more than 100 years. Further information about working at the ICR can be found here.

 

We look forward to receiving applications from all candidates, wherever in the world they are currently based. We will select those who display the potential to become, or to support, the world leading cancer researchers of the future based on their application and performance at interview. However, we particularly welcome British applicants from black and ethnic minority backgrounds, as they are under-represented within the ICR and nationwide in STEM roles.

Please apply via recruiter’s website.

Job Features

Job CategoryInternship and training

Apply Online

Check Also

Discovery of Plastic Particles in Human Testicles: A Threat to Male Fertility

Introduction Scientists have discovered significant concentrations of microplastics in human testicular tissues, raising concerns about …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Stagiaire postdoctoral – Fonction génétique (Prof Chris Lord) (ID:155) – Londres, Royaume Uni

Royaume-Uni
Publié il y a 2 ans

Information clé

Un salaire: 

Le salaire de départ est compris entre 38 607 £ et 41 718 £ par an inclus, en fonction de l’expérience postdoctorale pertinente. La progression future est basée sur l’examen annuel des performances. Si le candidat n’a pas encore obtenu son doctorat, le salaire de départ sera de 32 844 £ jusqu’à la réussite de sa soutenance.

Durée du contrat : CDD de 3 ans 

Heures par semaine :  35 heures par semaine (Temps Plein)

Date de clôture :  10 avril 2022

Détails du poste

Responsable de la recherche  Professeur Chris Lord 

Résumé du rôle
Ce poste est basé dans l’équipe des fonctions génétiques (IP Prof. Chris Lord) à l’ ICR à Chelsea, dans le centre de Londres.

Nous recherchons un stagiaire postdoctoral créatif et motivé pour étudier l’émergence, la prévention et le traitement de la résistance aux inhibiteurs de PARP dans le cancer du sein et de l’ovaire. La résistance aux inhibiteurs de PARP peut émerger par un certain nombre de voies, mais le mécanisme clinique le mieux décrit est celui des mutations de réversion qui restaurent la fonction de  BRCA1/2  (Pettitt  et al. ,  Cancer Discovery 2020 ; reversions.icr.ac.uk).

Le projet proposé vise à caractériser expérimentalement les mutations de réversion BRCA , à déterminer si certaines mutations pathogènes confèrent différents risques de réversion, et si le contexte génétique, le régime de traitement ou d’autres interventions peuvent modifier le risque de réversion. Cela impliquera l’utilisation d’une mutagenèse CRISPR « tuilage » à haut débit (Pettitt et al. Nat Comms 2018), des informations issues de l’analyse informatique des réversions (Pettitt et al. Cancer Discovery 2021) et des inhibiteurs de DDR à petites molécules qui peuvent moduler le développement de la réversion (Zatreanu et al. Nat Comms 2021). Les modèles utilisés comprendront des lignées cellulaires, PDX , PDOet des modèles de souris syngéniques, ainsi que l’analyse de données de séquençage à partir de biopsies humaines et d’ADNc. Le poste conviendrait à un candidat ayant une solide expérience en génomique fonctionnelle CRISPR , en culture cellulaire à haut débit et/ou en DDR .

L’ ICR a un accord de main-d’œuvre stipulant que les boursiers de formation postdoctorale ne peuvent être employés que pendant 7 ans en tant que PDTF à l’ ICR , à condition que l’expérience postdoctorale totale (y compris l’emploi antérieur à ce niveau ailleurs) ne dépasse pas 10 ans

Informations sur le département/la direction :

Le Gene Function Laboratory, dirigé par le  professeur Chris Lord , se concentre sur l’identification et la compréhension des dépendances spécifiques aux tumeurs, telles que les effets létaux synthétiques, comme moyen de concevoir de nouvelles approches pour le traitement du cancer. Nous avons réalisé des avancées majeures dans l’identification des interactions mortelles synthétiques impliquant, par exemple, les inhibiteurs de PARP (Farmer et al Nature (2005), Edwards et al Nature (2008), Bajrami et al, Cancer Research (2014)), les inhibiteurs d’ ATR (Williamson et al, Nature Communications (2016)) et les inhibiteurs de ROS1 (Bajrami et al, Cancer Discovery (2018)). Notre objectif est de générer des informations précliniques qui peuvent éclairer la conception des essais cliniques et l’identification de nouvelles cibles pour les programmes de découverte de médicaments.

Le centre de recherche Breast Cancer Now Toby Robins  de l’ ICR est le premier centre au Royaume-Uni entièrement consacré à la recherche sur le cancer du sein. Notre objectif est de faire progresser la recherche sur les causes, le diagnostic et le traitement du cancer du sein.

Nous encourageons tous les candidats à accéder au dossier d’emploi ci-joint pour obtenir des informations plus détaillées sur ce rôle. Pour une discussion informelle concernant le rôle, veuillez contacter stephen.pettitt@icr.ac.uk

À propos de l’Institut de recherche sur le cancer

Pourquoi travailler pour nous ?

En tant que membre du personnel, vous aurez un accès exclusif à une gamme d’  avantages sociaux .

L’ ICR s’engage à soutenir les candidats étrangers postulant à des postes,  veuillez cliquer  ici pour obtenir de plus amples informations.

L’Institute of Cancer Research de Londres est l’un des instituts de recherche sur le cancer les plus influents au monde, avec un bilan exceptionnel de réalisations remontant à plus de 100 ans. Pour plus d’informations sur le travail à l’ ICR ,  cliquez ici .

Nous attendons avec impatience de recevoir les candidatures de tous les candidats, où qu’ils se trouvent actuellement dans le monde. Nous sélectionnerons ceux qui affichent le potentiel de devenir ou de soutenir les meilleurs chercheurs mondiaux sur le cancer de l’avenir en fonction de leur candidature et de leurs performances lors de l’entretien. Cependant, nous accueillons particulièrement les candidats britanniques issus de minorités noires et ethniques, car ils sont sous-représentés au sein de l’ ICR et à l’échelle nationale dans les rôles STEM .

Veuillez postuler via le site Web du recruteur.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiStage et Formation

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Bourse internationale d’excellence académique de premier cycle de Sydney

Une bourse de premier cycle Une bourse de premier cycle pour soutenir des étudiants internationaux …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *