A vacancy is available for an Early Stage Researcher (PhD-student) on Restoring binaural hearing in children with single sided deafness – Leuven, Belgium

Belgium
Posted 2 years ago

Duration: 4 years

Starting date: as soon as possible

The goal of this research project is to investigate the cortical reorganization of children with single sided deafness (SSD) following intervention with a cochlear implant (SSD-CI), compared to a group of children with SSD but not fitted with a CI (SSD-noCI) and a group of children with normal hearing. SSD significantly affects cortical symmetry, as it results in an increased dominant representation of the normal ear compared to the deaf ear. Research shows that early intervention in children with SSD can restore the hemispheric representations of bilateral auditory input in the auditory cortex. Using EEG-based objective measures, we will investigate the binaural restoration at the subcortical and cortical level of the auditory pathway in children who are four years and older. Neural activity captured by the multi-channel EEG will be used to construct functional network models of cortical processes.

This position is a part of the H2020 Marie-Curie Innovative Training Network project Comm4CHILD (https://comm4child.ulb.be) that received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No. 860755.

Your profile

  • Master degree in audiology, biomedical engineering, neuroscience, psychology, or related field
  • Profound interest in science
  • Experience with electrophysiological data is an asset
  • Good verbal skills Dutch (for the children) is an asset
  • Good verbal and written communication skills in English
  • Keen interest in signal processing (CI, artefacts), statistics (R), matlab,
  • Keen interest to (learn to) work with the neuroimaging toolbox Brainstorm
  • Interested to learn within an international network, spend secondments in a partner country, attend network-wide training events and conferences

Eligibility criteria:

The candidate must have resided or carried out their main activity in a different country from the host organization for at least 12 months prior to their recruitment. This excludes short stays such as holidays. Candidates cannot have completed more than four years of full-time equivalent research experience.

We offer:

A highly dynamic interdisciplinary research environment in Europe’s most innovative university. The European funding will cover the 2 years of a full-time PhD (3 270 € monthly gross salary including employer and employee deductions and taxes) in Belgium, plus 600 € per month as Mobility Allowance and if entitled a Family Allowance. The 3rd or 4th years will be provided to the successful candidate to complete the doctorate.

How to apply?

Interested candidates should submit (a) a cover letter describing their background, research experiences, interests, and goals, (b) a curriculum vitae, (c) at least one letter of recommendation from previous research supervisors, (d) a copy of the diploma (with the university transcripts), to astrid.vanwieringen@kuleuven.be.

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research

Apply Online

Check Also

Fecal Transplantation: A Promising New Approach Against Parkinson’s Disease

Belgian researchers have found that fecal microbiota transplantation (FMT) could hinder the progression of symptoms …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Un poste vacant est disponible pour un chercheur débutant (doctorant) sur la restauration de l’audition binaurale chez les enfants atteints de surdité unilatérale – Louvain , Belgique

Belgique
Publié il y a 2 ans

Durée : 4 ans

Date de début : dès que possible

L’objectif de ce projet de recherche est d’étudier la réorganisation corticale d’enfants atteints de surdité unilatérale (SSD) suite à une intervention avec un implant cochléaire (SSD-CI), par rapport à un groupe d’enfants atteints de SSD mais non équipés d’IC ​​(SSD- noCI) et un groupe d’enfants ayant une audition normale. La SSD affecte de manière significative la symétrie corticale, car elle entraîne une représentation dominante accrue de l’oreille normale par rapport à l’oreille sourde. La recherche montre qu’une intervention précoce chez les enfants atteints de SSD peut restaurer les représentations hémisphériques de l’entrée auditive bilatérale dans le cortex auditif. À l’aide de mesures objectives basées sur l’EEG, nous étudierons la restauration binaurale aux niveaux sous-cortical et cortical de la voie auditive chez les enfants de quatre ans et plus.

Ce poste fait partie du projet H2020 Marie-Curie Innovative Training Network Comm4CHILD (https://comm4child.ulb.be) qui a reçu un financement du programme de recherche et d’innovation Horizon 2020 de l’Union européenne dans le cadre de la convention de subvention n° 860755.

Votre profil

  • Master en audiologie, génie biomédical, neurosciences, psychologie ou domaine connexe
  • Intérêt profond pour les sciences
  • Expérience avec des données électrophysiologiques est un atout
  • De bonnes compétences verbales en néerlandais (pour les enfants) sont un atout
  • Bonnes compétences en communication verbale et écrite en anglais
  • Intérêt marqué pour le traitement du signal (CI, artefacts), les statistiques (R), matlab,
  • Vif intérêt à (apprendre à) travailler avec la boîte à outils de neuroimagerie Brainstorm
  • Intéressé à apprendre au sein d’un réseau international, effectuer des détachements dans un pays partenaire, assister à des événements de formation et à des conférences à l’échelle du réseau

Critère d’éligibilité:

Le candidat doit avoir résidé ou exercé son activité principale dans un pays différent de l’organisme d’accueil pendant au moins 12 mois avant son recrutement. Cela exclut les courts séjours tels que les vacances. Les candidats ne peuvent pas avoir complété plus de quatre années d’expérience de recherche équivalente à temps plein.

Nous offrons:

Un environnement de recherche interdisciplinaire très dynamique dans l’université la plus innovante d’Europe. Le financement européen couvrira les 2 années d’un doctorat à temps plein (3 270 € de salaire brut mensuel, y compris les retenues et les impôts de l’employeur et de l’employé) en Belgique, plus 600 € par mois au titre de l’allocation de mobilité et, le cas échéant, d’une allocation familiale. Les 3e ou 4e années seront dispensées au candidat retenu pour compléter le doctorat.

Comment s’inscrire?

Les candidats intéressés doivent soumettre (a) une lettre d’accompagnement décrivant leurs antécédents, leurs expériences de recherche, leurs intérêts et leurs objectifs, (b) un curriculum vitae, (c) au moins une lettre de recommandation d’anciens directeurs de recherche, (d) une copie du diplôme (avec les relevés de notes universitaires), à  astrid.vanwieringen@kuleuven.be.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Bourse internationale d’excellence académique de premier cycle de Sydney

Une bourse de premier cycle Une bourse de premier cycle pour soutenir des étudiants internationaux …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *