Full-time PhD student in testing for cybersecurity (CyberExcellence project) – Namur, Belgium

Belgium
Posted 2 years ago

University faculty : Computer science
Grade : researcher
Contract : renewable fixed term contract
Category : scientific personnel
Allocation : External funds
Reference : External funds (CyberExcellence project).

Responsibilities

About the employer

The University of Namur (UNamur) is located in the centre of Belgium, in the French-speaking part of the country. It offers quality education to more than 7,000 students every year and hosts more than 900 researchers in all fields of expertise. The Faculty of Computer Science provides cutting-edge teaching and research, intending to put computers at the service of society, taking account of their impact on the environment and respecting the values of solidarity and sustainable development. The Faculty is a founding member of the Namur Digital Institute (NADI), which groups together over 150 researchers in digital technology. It has a multi-disciplinary approach and addresses, in particular, the issues and challenges of computer science in organisations and society. The Faculty of Computer Science has over 400 students, 80 members of staff, including 18 professors and around 50 researchers. Founded in 1968, the Faculty has trained over 1,800 high-level computer science graduates since then.

Context

The CyberExcellence project started in January 2022. It aims to position Wallonia as a major player in cybersecurity on the national and international map by developing a core framework allowing the implementation of solutions based on practical and thoughtful cybersecurity with a competitive advantage.

Among the different axes addressed by the project, Axis 1 aims to secure the system before its deployment through testing approaches. These approaches will be based on techniques derived from artificial intelligence in order, on the one hand, to predict the interesting test cases based on knowledge of the system, its history and the external components used and, on the other hand, to efficiently explore the space of possible states to find interesting new test cases. For example, machine learning algorithms to detect potential flaws and vulnerabilities from the source code, its evolution and the APIs used, and evolutionary algorithms to generate tests and test data (search-based testing algorithms, fuzzing, etc.). These actions can be carried out in collaboration with the ARIAC Artificial Intelligence project funded by the Walloon region. Results will be produced for the two broad classes of cybersecurity testing, (1) cybersecurity functional testing and (2) penetration testing.

More information: https://www.digitalwallonia.be/fr/publications/cyberexcellence-projet-recherche-cybersecurite (in French).

Job description

The position is a 2-years (renewable) contract, funded by the CyberExcellence project. The person hired will join the SNAIL team (https://snail.info.unamur.be) and be actively involved in research leading to a doctoral thesis within the Namur Digital Institute (https://nadi.unamur.be). This thesis will aim at the definition, implementation, and evaluation of test approaches for cybersecurity within the CyberExcellence project, in collaboration with the project’s various academic and industrial partners.

The objectives of the thesis are the following:

  • Defining and assessing predictive approaches to identify potential vulnerabilities in given source code.
  • Understanding the link between detecting a potential vulnerability and the behaviour leading to its (specific) exposure. This objective aims at a better prediction of potentially problematic behaviours, while allowing automation (partial or not) of the definition of oracles allowing to detect these behaviours.
  • Defining and evaluating automatic test generation approach to verify the non-exposure of (potential) detected vulnerabilities.

Profile

Job requirement

Those who apply will carry:

  • a Master’s degree (120 ECTS credits) in Computer Science, or equivalent,
  • or a Civil Engineering degree with good computer skills, or equivalent.

The person hired will demonstrate:

  • interest for software testing or cybersecurity;
  • ability to integrate and work in a research team;
  • good communication and presentation skills in English (read, written, spoken), knowledge of French is considered as a plus,
  • sense of initiative and responsibility, autonomy, and organization.

Note: soon to be graduating master students are welcome to apply provided that they will have graduated before the start of the position. Candidates that already hold a PhD degree are not eligible.

Additional information

For additional information please do not hesitate to contact:

Remarks

Contract: fixed term contract, two-years (renewable).

Expected starting date: July 1st, 2022 (negotiable, depending on COVID or candidate constraints).

How to apply

Applications should be sent by e-mail to xavier.devroey@unamur.be and jean-noel.colin@unamur.be and contain the following:

  • a motivation letter describing the interest in the research topic;
  • a recent CV;
  • a copy of diplomas (Bachelor and Master, if available);
  • the name and e-mail address of one reference person to be contacted upon request.

A dedicated selection committee will examine applications.

Submission deadline: May, 1st, 2022 (11h59 pm AoE).

The human resources management policy of the University of Namur is based on respect for equal rights and equal treatment for all. This diversity is articulated around different axes, including gender, disability, origin, beliefs, age, sexual orientation, etc. The University of Namur is also a signatory of the charter of diversity.

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research

Apply Online

Check Also

Shannen Doherty’s Battle with Breast Cancer: A Stark Reminder of the Need for Early Detection

Shannen Doherty, renowned for her roles in “Beverly Hills 90210” and “Charmed,” passed away on …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Doctorant à temps plein en tests pour la cybersécurité (projet CyberExcellence) – Namur , Belgique

Belgique
Publié il y a 2 ans

Faculté universitaire : Informatique
Grade : chercheur
Contrat : CDD renouvelable
Catégorie : personnel scientifique
Allocation : Fonds externes
Référence : Fonds externes (projet CyberExcellence).

Responsabilités

À propos de l’employeur

L’Université de Namur (UNamur) est située au centre de la Belgique, dans la partie francophone du pays. Elle offre une formation de qualité à plus de 7 000 étudiants chaque année et accueille plus de 900 chercheurs dans tous les domaines d’expertise. La Faculté d’Informatique dispense un enseignement et une recherche de pointe, entendant mettre l’informatique au service de la société, en tenant compte de son impact sur l’environnement et en respectant les valeurs de solidarité et de développement durable. La Faculté est membre fondateur de l’Institut Namurois du Numérique (NADI), qui regroupe plus de 150 chercheurs en technologies numériques. Il a une approche pluridisciplinaire et aborde notamment les enjeux et défis de l’informatique dans les organisations et la société. La Faculté d’informatique compte plus de 400 étudiants, 80 membres du personnel, dont 18 professeurs et une cinquantaine de chercheurs. Fondée en 1968, la Faculté a depuis formé plus de 1 800 diplômés de haut niveau en informatique.

Le contexte

Le projet CyberExcellence a débuté en janvier 2022. Il vise à positionner la Wallonie comme un acteur majeur de la cybersécurité sur la carte nationale et internationale en développant un cadre de base permettant la mise en œuvre de solutions basées sur une cybersécurité pratique et réfléchie avec un avantage concurrentiel.

Parmi les différents axes abordés par le projet, l’Axe 1 vise à sécuriser le système avant son déploiement via des approches de test. Ces approches s’appuieront sur des techniques issues de l’intelligence artificielle afin, d’une part, de prédire les cas de test intéressants à partir de la connaissance du système, de son historique et des composants externes utilisés et, d’autre part, d’explorer efficacement les espace d’états possibles pour trouver de nouveaux cas de test intéressants. Par exemple, des algorithmes de machine learning pour détecter d’éventuelles failles et vulnérabilités du code source, son évolution et les API utilisées, et des algorithmes évolutifs pour générer des tests et des données de test (algorithmes de test basés sur la recherche, fuzzing, etc.). Ces actions peuvent être menées en collaboration avec le projet ARIAC Intelligence Artificielle financé par la Région wallonne.

Plus d’informations : https://www.digitalwallonia.be/fr/publications/cyberexcellence-projet-recherche-cybersecurite .

Description de l’emploi

Le poste est un contrat de 2 ans (renouvelable), financé par le projet CyberExcellence. La personne recrutée rejoindra l’équipe SNAIL ( https://snail.info.unamur.be ) et participera activement à des recherches menant à une thèse de doctorat au sein de l’Institut numérique de Namur ( https://nadi.unamur.be ). Cette thèse visera la définition, la mise en œuvre et l’évaluation d’approches de test pour la cybersécurité au sein du projet CyberExcellence, en collaboration avec les différents partenaires académiques et industriels du projet.

Les objectifs de la thèse sont les suivants :

  • Définir et évaluer des approches prédictives pour identifier les vulnérabilités potentielles dans un code source donné.
  • Comprendre le lien entre la détection d’une vulnérabilité potentielle et le comportement conduisant à son exposition (spécifique). Cet objectif vise une meilleure prédiction des comportements potentiellement problématiques, tout en permettant une automatisation (partielle ou non) de la définition des oracles permettant de détecter ces comportements.
  • Définir et évaluer l’approche de génération automatique de tests pour vérifier la non-exposition des vulnérabilités (potentielles) détectées.

Profil

Exigence du poste

Ceux qui postulent porteront :

  • un Master (120 crédits ECTS) en informatique, ou équivalent,
  • ou un diplôme d’ingénieur civil avec de bonnes compétences en informatique, ou équivalent.

La personne embauchée démontrera :

  • intérêt pour les tests logiciels ou la cybersécurité ;
  • capacité à s’intégrer et à travailler dans une équipe de recherche;
  • bonnes capacités de communication et de présentation en anglais (lu, écrit, parlé), la connaissance du français est considérée comme un plus,
  • sens de l’initiative et des responsabilités, autonomie et organisation.

Remarque: les étudiants en master bientôt diplômés sont invités à postuler à condition qu’ils aient obtenu leur diplôme avant le début du poste. Les candidats déjà titulaires d’un doctorat ne sont pas éligibles.

Information additionnelle

Pour plus d’informations, n’hésitez pas à contacter :

Remarques

Contrat : contrat à durée déterminée, deux ans (renouvelable).

Date de début prévue : 1er juillet 2022 (négociable, selon COVID ou contraintes candidats).

comment s’inscrire

Les candidatures doivent être envoyées par e-mail à xavier.devroey@unamur.be et jean-noel.colin@unamur.be et contenir les éléments suivants :

  • une lettre de motivation décrivant l’intérêt pour le sujet de recherche;
  • un CV récent ;
  • une copie des diplômes (Licence et Master, si disponible) ;
  • le nom et l’adresse e-mail d’une personne de référence à contacter sur demande.

Un comité de sélection dédié examinera les candidatures.

Date limite de soumission : 1er mai 2022 (23h59 AoE).

La politique de gestion des ressources humaines de l’Université de Namur est fondée sur le respect de l’égalité des droits et de l’égalité de traitement pour tous. Cette diversité s’articule autour de différents axes, dont le genre, le handicap, l’origine, les croyances, l’âge, l’orientation sexuelle, etc. L’Université de Namur est également signataire de la charte de la diversité .

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Bourse de recherche postdoctorale Alfred Deakin 2025 en Australie

Bourse de recherche postdoctorale Alfred Deakin 2025 en Australie La bourse de recherche postdoctorale Alfred …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *