Post-Doctoral Research Visit F/M Ergonomics and biomechanics impact of a wrist exoskeleton on cutting and deboning tasks – Rennes, France

France
Posted 2 years ago

Contract type : Fixed-term contract

Level of qualifications required : PhD or equivalent

Fonction : Post-Doctoral Research Visit

About the research centre or Inria department

The Inria Rennes – Bretagne Atlantique Centre is one of Inria’s eight centres and has more than thirty research teams. The Inria Center is a major and recognized player in the field of digital sciences. It is at the heart of a rich R&D and innovation ecosystem: highly innovative PMEs, large industrial groups, competitiveness clusters, research and higher education players, laboratories of excellence, technological research institute, etc

Context

Food industry concentrates a quarter of the recognized work-related musculoskeletal disorders (WMSD) in France. In such an industry, workers are particularly exposed to physical risk factors (cold, repetitive tasks, heavy loads…), due to the lack of automatization of strenuous tasks. Among all, cutting/deboning tasks in meat industry are particularly prone to injuries and focus a lot of ergonomic interventions. The industrial project in which this position is funded aims at developing and commercializing a wrist exoskeleton able to assist butchers in the realization of such tasks to minimize their exposure to physical risks of WMSD development. The exoskeleton is actuated with artificial muscles, able to provide a compliant force assistance to the task to be performed. From an initial prototype that served as a proof of concept, the project is developing a fully operational product.

The project is leaded by a R&D company specialized in the food industry, in charge of the development of the exoskeleton, with in coordination with two other actors that are an industrial meat company – use case provider and integration evaluation – and ENS Rennes – virtual prototyping and biomechanical evaluation.

The main mission of the recruited post doctoral fellow will be to qualify in biomechanical and ergonomics terms the impact of the successive exoskeleton prototypes on the task (cutting and deboning) realization. This will be done thanks to experimentation in simulated conditions of meat cutting tasks and a motion analysis based on motion capture, EMG and musculoskeletal analysis of the aforementioned tasks.

 This research topic will be carried out in Rennes, the capital of Brittany and the tenth largest city in France, with a metropolitan area of about 720,000 inhabitants. Moreover, with more than 66,000 students, Rennes is also the eighth-largest university campus of France and it has the 2nd highest concentration of digital and ICT firms in France after Paris. Rennes is also known to be one of the most festive and lively cities of France, home of several music and culture festivals. In 2018, the newspaper “L’Express” named Rennes as “the most liveable city in France”.

The post-doctoral fellow will join the Inria MimeTIC team (https://team.inria.fr/mimetic/), internationally recognized for its multidisciplinary approach to analyse, model and synthesize motion. The candidate will be integrated into a group of about 10 persons working on musculoskeletal simulation and particularly on the CusToM library. The candidate will also have access to unique experimental platforms Immersia and Immermove which offer a high-tech set-up to perform user experiments in real and virtual environments and measure motion (motion capture, EMG, EKG, force sensors, eye trackers).

Assignment

A post-doctoral fellow will be hired to work full time on the project (12 months) to work at ENS Rennes. His/Her main mission will be the musculoskeletal analysis of the the tasks performed with and without exoskeleton for comparison in biomechanical and ergonomics terms.

Main activities

He/She will be in charge of two main actions:

  • Defining and conducting recurrent experimentations involving meat industry employees, in which meat cutting and deboning tasks will be realized with and without the assistive device
  • Defining and conducting a comparative analysis of the impact of the assistive device on the task realization, in biomechanical and ergonomics terms. We particularly focus on approaches such as the maximum acceptable effort to characterize the task in ergonomics terms.

The post-doctoral fellow will have to manage his/her work within the frame of the projet by retroplanning, team meetings, work presentations and publications.

Muller, A., Pontonnier, C., Puchaud, P., & Dumont, G. (2019). CusToM: a Matlab toolbox for musculoskeletal simulation. Journal of Open Source Software, 4(33), 1-3.

Potvin, J. R. (2012). Predicting maximum acceptable efforts for repetitive tasks: an equation based on duty cycle. Human factors54(2), 175-188.

Skills

Fundamentals:

  • Motion analysis (kinematics, dynamics, musculoskeletal)
  • Experimentation (mocap, emg, …)
  • Ergonomics (physical)

Plus:

  • Assistive devices
  • Mechatronics

Transrverse:

  • Teamwork
  • Scientific writing
  • English

Benefits package

  • Subsidized meals
  • Partial reimbursement of public transport costs

Remuneration

Monthly gross salary amounting to 2 653 euros

General Information

  • Theme/Domain : Modeling and Control for Life Sciences
    Biologie et santé, Sciences de la vie et de la terre (BAP A)
  • Town/city : Rennes
  • Inria Center : CRI Rennes – Bretagne Atlantique
  • Starting date : 2022-03-01
  • Duration of contract : 12 months
  • Deadline to apply : 2022-02-25

Contacts

The keys to success

The project is clearly applicative but involves many scientific issues of interest:

  • experimental validation of musculoskeletal simulations;
  • task characterization from an ergonomic point of view;
  • motion analysis and synchronisation with an assistive device.

Pontonnier, C., de Zee, M., Samani, A., Dumont, G., & Madeleine, P. (2011). Meat cutting tasks analysis using 3D instrumented knife and motion capture. In 15th Nordic-Baltic Conference on Biomedical Engineering and Medical Physics (NBC 2011) (pp. 144-147). Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg.

Pontonnier, C., Marie, S., Chander, D. S., Kirchhofer, S., & Gréau, M. (2021). Evaluating the action detection of an active exoskeleton: a muscle-control synchronicity approach for meat cutting assistance. Computer Methods in Biomechanics and Biomedical Engineering.

About Inria

Inria is the French national research institute dedicated to digital science and technology. It employs 2,600 people. Its 200 agile project teams, generally run jointly with academic partners, include more than 3,500 scientists and engineers working to meet the challenges of digital technology, often at the interface with other disciplines. The Institute also employs numerous talents in over forty different professions. 900 research support staff contribute to the preparation and development of scientific and entrepreneurial projects that have a worldwide impact.

Instruction to apply

Please submit online : your resume, cover letter and letters of recommendation eventually

Defence Security :
This position is likely to be situated in a restricted area (ZRR), as defined in Decree No. 2011-1425 relating to the protection of national scientific and technical potential (PPST).Authorisation to enter an area is granted by the director of the unit, following a favourable Ministerial decision, as defined in the decree of 3 July 2012 relating to the PPST. An unfavourable Ministerial decision in respect of a position situated in a ZRR would result in the cancellation of the appointment.

Recruitment Policy :
As part of its diversity policy, all Inria positions are accessible to people with disabilities.

Warning : you must enter your e-mail address in order to save your application to Inria. Applications must be submitted online on the Inria website. Processing of applications sent from other channels is not guaranteed.

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research

Apply Online

Check Also

Discovery of Plastic Particles in Human Testicles: A Threat to Male Fertility

Introduction Scientists have discovered significant concentrations of microplastics in human testicular tissues, raising concerns about …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visite de Recherche Post-Doctorante F/H Impact ergonomique et biomécanique d’un exosquelette de poignet sur les tâches de découpe et de désossage – Rennes , France

France
Publié il y a 2 ans

Type de contrat : Contrat à durée déterminée

Niveau de diplôme requis : Doctorat ou équivalent

Fonction : Visite de recherche post-doctorale

A propos du centre de recherche ou du département Inria

Le centre Inria Rennes – Bretagne Atlantique est l’un des huit centres Inria et compte plus d’une trentaine d’équipes de recherche. Le centre Inria est un acteur majeur et reconnu dans le domaine des sciences du numérique. Elle est au cœur d’un riche écosystème de R&D et d’innovation : PME très innovantes, grands groupes industriels, pôles de compétitivité, acteurs de la recherche et de l’enseignement supérieur, laboratoires d’excellence, institut de recherche technologique, etc.

Le contexte

L’industrie agroalimentaire concentre un quart des troubles musculo-squelettiques liés au travail (TMS) reconnus en France. Dans une telle industrie, les travailleurs sont particulièrement exposés aux facteurs de risques physiques (froid, tâches répétitives, charges lourdes…), du fait du manque d’automatisation des tâches pénibles. Parmi toutes, les tâches de découpe/désossage dans l’industrie de la viande sont particulièrement sujettes aux blessures et concentrent de nombreuses interventions ergonomiques. Le projet industriel dans lequel ce poste est financé vise à développer et commercialiser un exosquelette de poignet capable d’assister les bouchers dans la réalisation de telles tâches afin de minimiser leur exposition aux risques physiques de développement des TMS. L’exosquelette est actionné par des muscles artificiels, capables de fournir une force d’assistance conforme à la tâche à accomplir. A partir d’un premier prototype qui a servi de preuve de concept,

Le projet est porté par une société de R&D spécialisée dans l’industrie agroalimentaire, en charge du développement de l’exosquelette, en coordination avec deux autres acteurs que sont une entreprise industrielle de la viande – fournisseur de cas d’utilisation et évaluation d’intégration – et l’ENS Rennes – prototypage virtuel et évaluation biomécanique.

La mission principale du post-doctorant recruté sera de qualifier en termes biomécaniques et ergonomiques l’impact des prototypes d’exosquelettes successifs sur la réalisation de la tâche (découpe et désossage). Cela se fera grâce à l’expérimentation dans des conditions simulées de tâches de découpe de viande et une analyse du mouvement basée sur la capture de mouvement, l’EMG et l’analyse musculo-squelettique des tâches susmentionnées.

 Ce sujet de recherche sera mené à Rennes, capitale de la Bretagne et dixième ville de France, avec une aire métropolitaine d’environ 720 000 habitants. Par ailleurs, avec plus de 66 000 étudiants, Rennes est également le huitième campus universitaire de France et la 2ème concentration d’entreprises du numérique et des TIC en France après Paris. Rennes est également connue pour être l’une des villes les plus festives et animées de France, abritant plusieurs festivals de musique et de culture. En 2018, le journal « L’Express » a désigné Rennes comme « la ville la plus agréable à vivre de France ».

Le post-doctorant rejoindra l’équipe Inria MimeTIC (https://team.inria.fr/mimetic/), internationalement reconnue pour son approche multidisciplinaire pour analyser, modéliser et synthétiser le mouvement. Le candidat sera intégré dans un groupe d’environ 10 personnes travaillant sur la simulation musculo-squelettique et notamment sur la librairie CusToM. Le candidat aura également accès à des plateformes expérimentales uniques Immersia et Immermove qui offrent une configuration de haute technologie pour effectuer des expériences utilisateur dans des environnements réels et virtuels et mesurer le mouvement (capture de mouvement, EMG, EKG, capteurs de force, eye trackers).

Mission

Un post-doctorant sera embauché pour travailler à temps plein sur le projet (12 mois) pour travailler à l’ENS Rennes. Sa mission principale sera l’analyse musculo-squelettique des tâches réalisées avec et sans exosquelette pour comparaison en termes biomécaniques et ergonomiques.

Activités principales

Il/Elle sera en charge de deux actions principales :

  • Définir et mener des expérimentations récurrentes impliquant des salariés de l’industrie de la viande, dans lesquelles des tâches de découpe et de désossage de la viande seront réalisées avec et sans l’appareil d’assistance
  • Définir et mener une analyse comparative de l’impact de l’aide technique sur la réalisation de la tâche, en termes biomécaniques et ergonomiques. Nous nous intéressons particulièrement aux approches telles que l’effort maximal acceptable pour caractériser la tâche en termes ergonomiques.

Le post-doctorant devra gérer son travail dans le cadre du projet par des rétroplanning, des réunions d’équipe, des présentations de travaux et des publications.

Muller, A., Pontonnier, C., Puchaud, P., & Dumont, G. (2019). CusToM : une boîte à outils Matlab pour la simulation musculo-squelettique. Journal of Open Source Software, 4(33), 1-3.

En lignePotvin, JR (2012). Prédire les efforts maximum acceptables pour les tâches répétitives : une équation basée sur le rapport cyclique. Facteurs humains ,  54 (2), 175-188.

Compétences

Fondamentaux :

  • Analyse du mouvement (cinématique, dynamique, musculo-squelettique)
  • Expérimentation (mocap, emg, …)
  • Ergonomie (physique)

Plus:

  • Dispositifs d’assistance
  • Mécatronique

Transversal :

  • Travail en équipe
  • Rédaction scientifique
  • Anglais

Ensemble d’avantages sociaux

  • Repas subventionnés
  • Remboursement partiel des frais de transport en commun

Rémunération

Salaire brut mensuel de 2 653 euros

Informations générales

  • Thème/Domaine : Modélisation et Commande pour les Sciences du
    Vivant Biologie et santé, Sciences de la vie et de la terre (BAP A)
  • Ville : Rennes
  • Centre Inria : CRI Rennes – Bretagne Atlantique
  • Date de début : 2022-03-01
  • Durée du contrat : 12 mois
  • Date limite pour postuler : 2022-02-25

Contacts

Les clés du succès

Le projet est clairement applicatif mais implique de nombreux enjeux scientifiques d’intérêt :

  • validation expérimentale de simulations musculo-squelettiques ;
  • caractérisation des tâches d’un point de vue ergonomique;
  • analyse de mouvement et synchronisation avec un dispositif d’assistance.

Pontonnier, C., de Zee, M., Samani, A., Dumont, G., & Madeleine, P. (2011). Analyse des tâches de découpe de la viande à l’aide d’un couteau instrumenté 3D et de la capture de mouvement. In  15th Nordic-Baltic Conference on Biomedical Engineering and Medical Physics (NBC 2011)  (pp. 144-147). Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg.

Pontonnier, C., Marie, S., Chander, DS, Kirchhofer, S., & Gréau, M. (2021). Évaluation de la détection d’action d’un exosquelette actif : une approche de synchronicité du contrôle musculaire pour l’assistance à la découpe de la viande. Méthodes informatiques en biomécanique et génie biomédical .

À propos d’Inria

Inria est l’institut national de recherche français dédié aux sciences et technologies du numérique. Elle emploie 2 600 personnes. Ses 200 équipes-projets agiles, généralement co-animées avec des partenaires académiques, regroupent plus de 3 500 scientifiques et ingénieurs œuvrant pour répondre aux enjeux du numérique, souvent à l’interface avec d’autres disciplines. L’Institut emploie également de nombreux talents dans plus de quarante métiers différents. 900 personnels d’appui à la recherche contribuent à l’élaboration et au développement de projets scientifiques et entrepreneuriaux à rayonnement mondial.

Instruction pour postuler

Merci de déposer en ligne : votre CV, lettre de motivation et lettres de recommandation éventuellement

Défense Sécurité :
Ce poste est susceptible d’être situé en zone réglementée (ZRR), telle que définie par le décret n°2011-1425 relatif à la protection du potentiel scientifique et technique national (PPST). L’autorisation d’entrer en zone est accordée par le directeur de l’unité, après décision ministérielle favorable, tel que défini dans l’arrêté du 3 juillet 2012 relatif au PPST. Une décision ministérielle défavorable à l’égard d’un poste situé dans une ZRR entraînerait l’annulation de la nomination.

Politique de recrutement :
Dans le cadre de sa politique de diversité, tous les postes d’Inria sont accessibles aux personnes en situation de handicap.

Attention : vous devez saisir votre adresse e-mail afin d’enregistrer votre candidature auprès d’Inria. Les candidatures doivent être déposées en ligne sur le site Inria. Le traitement des candidatures envoyées par d’autres canaux n’est pas garanti.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Bourses McDonald 2024 sur la sclérose en plaques (jusqu’à 30 000 £ GBP par an)

Les candidatures pour les bourses McDonald sont désormais ouvertes – date de clôture 30 juin …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *