Santé

According to scientific study: belief in God stimulates the human brain

But why do we believe in God? If many people are believers, it is also thanks to neurology: at the very heart of our brain, hide the mechanisms that transform faith into a positive action on our psyche.

T The most recent observations on the effects of religious passion, obtained through various brain imaging experiments, have all shown: Faith has flourished in the structure of our brain. “No section of the brain is dedicated to belief,” said Andrew Newberg, director of neuroscience research at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, United States. On the contrary, by thinking of God, a person mobilizes the cerebral networks which he uses in his daily life. But these networks seem to activate in an even stronger way, or following original patterns, which can give the impression that something particular, mystical, is happening. “

By turning to God, through prayer for example, a believing person thus stimulates specialized areas of the brain in the mental sphere, the prefrontal cortex among others, just as if he were communicating with another person, as if God were really there and could answer him. True divine communication, at least from a cerebral point of view, that atheists would be unable to pray with all their might. In addition, the belief could have physiological consequences: “Some seem really good for the health,” explains neuropsychologist Jordan Grafman, of Northwestern University in Evanston, United States, who devoted a study on this subject to beginning of the year.

Laissez un commentaire

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You cannot copy content of this page

Mais pourquoi croyons-nous en Dieu ? Si beaucoup de gens sont croyants, c’est aussi grâce à la neurologie : au cœur même de notre cerveau, se cachent les mécanismes qui transforment la foi en une action positive sur notre psyché.

L les observations les plus récentes sur les effets de la passion religieuse, obtenus grâce aux différentes expériences d’imagerie cérébrale, ont toutes démontré : la foi a prospéré dans la structure de notre cerveau. “Aucune section du cerveau n’est dédiée à la croyance”, a affirmé Andrew Newberg, directeur de la recherche en neurosciences à l’université Thomas Jefferson de Philadelphie, aux États-Unis. Bien au contraire, en pensant à Dieu, une personne mobilise les réseaux cérébraux dont elle se sert dans sa vie quotidienne. Mais ces réseaux paraissent s’activer de façon encore plus forte, ou suivant des schémas originaux, ce qui peut donner une impression que quelque chose de particulier, de mystique, est en train de se passer. “

En se tournant vers Dieu, par le biais de la prière par exemple, une personne croyante stimule ainsi les zones du cerveau spécialisées dans la sphère mentale, le cortex préfrontal entre autres, tout comme si elle communiquait avec une autre personne, comme si Dieu était réellement au rendez-vous et pouvait lui répondre. Une véritable communication divine, au moins d’un point de vue cérébral, que les athées seraient incapables de prier de toutes leurs forces. De plus, la croyance pourrait avoir des conséquences physiologiques : “Certaines paraissent vraiment bonnes pour la santé”, explique le neuropsychologue Jordan Grafman, de l’université Northwestern d’Evanston, aux États-Unis, qui a consacré une étude à ce sujet au début de l’année.