Postdoctoral Research Fellow (speech and language technology, cognitive science) – Tampere, Finland

Finland
Posted 2 years ago

Tampere University and Tampere University of Applied Sciences create a unique environment for multidisciplinary, inspirational and high-impact research and education. Our universities community has its competitive edges in technology, health and society. www.tuni.fi/en

Speech and Cognition research group (SPECOG) is part of Computing Sciences Unit of Tampere University within the Faculty of Information Technology and Communication Sciences. SPECOG focuses on interdisciplinary research at the intersection of speech and language technology and cognitive sciences. We combine advanced signal processing and machine learning methods with realistic large-scale infant data to the study of child language development, but we also investigate how human-like information processing principles can be applied in autonomous next-generation artificial intelligence (AI) systems. The group also conducts research and development in speech and language technology and in machine learning for medical signal analysis. SPECOG collaborates with several internationally leading research groups within and across disciplinary boundaries, including joint research with psychologists, linguists, phoneticians, and computer scientists.

Job description

We are inviting applications for the position of a postdoctoral research fellow on the topic of computational modelling of child language development. The position is associated with a project titled “Modeling Child Language Development using Naturalistic Data at a Scale (L-SCALE)”, where the aim is to develop new practices to training and evaluation of computational models of infant language learning using realistic infant data. These data may include long-form child-centred audio recordings, infant-caregiver interaction transcripts, and meta-analyses conducted across a range of behavioural experiments. While the job is located in Finland, the project has a notable emphasis on international collaboration with key partners in Europe and North America.

The work will be conducted as a member of the SPECOG research group led by Dr. Okko Räsänen. We are looking for candidates who are interested in human and/or machine language processing, and who are willing to contribute to our cross-disciplinary research efforts in understanding language learning in humans through computational means.

In this position, the candidate is expected to:

1) carry out high-quality research on computational modelling of early language development, particularly working on ecologically relevant model training and evaluation protocols using large-scale infant data as a resource,
2) work in close collaboration with other members of the research group, including 1–2 PhD students working on connected topics, and
3) advise undergraduate/graduate research projects and participate to teaching in your field of expertise (up to a total of 15% of annual working time and subject to negotiation based on candidate’s interests and career aspirations).

Requirements

The candidate should hold a doctoral degree (e.g., PhD or D.Sc.) in language technology, psycholinguistics, cognitive science, computer science, or other relevant area.

A successful candidate has strong expertise in a) speech and/or language technology or in b) child language research with quantitative methods (e.g., developmental psychology, psycholinguistics, cognitive science). Fluent programming (Python, Matlab, R, or similar) and English skills are required. Strong motivation towards understanding the underpinnings of human language learning and processing is a must. Experience from computational modelling, natural language processing, or use of meta-analysis in research are considered as an advantage.

Potential candidates must be capable of carrying out independent academic research at the highest international level. Competence must be demonstrated through several existing publications in internationally recognised peer-reviewed journals and conferences.

Candidates should also have teaching/advising skills required to successfully perform the duties and functions of the position, or have interest towards developing their supervisory and pedagogical skills.

We offer

The position will be filled for a fixed-term period of 3 years. Starting date is negotiable, but should not be later than October 2022. A trial period of 6 months is applied to all new employees.

The funding of the position consists of a personal grant and a part-time salary that are comparable to a regular salary of 3500–3600€/month for starting postdocs. A higher salary based on existing postdoctoral experience and merits is negotiable. The position also includes possibilities for short-term researcher mobility to other international research labs. Traveling costs to presenting peer-reviewed work in major international conferences are covered by default. In addition, the position comes with extensive benefits such as occupational healthcare, on-campus sports facilities, flexible working hours, and several restaurants and cafés on the campus with staff discounts. The job is associated with 1612 h annual working time, which translates to approx. 6 weeks of work-free days year.

How to apply

Send the application through our online portal (link below).

Please submit your application through our online recruitment system. The closing date for applications is 17 March, 2022 (at 23.59 EET /  UTC+2). Note that we will start going through the applications and may start to interview some candidates already during the application period. We reserve the opportunity not to fill the position in case a suitable candidate is not found during the process.

Please write your application and all accompanying documents in English and attach them in PDF format. Please attach the following documents to your application:

  • A free-form letter of motivation for the position in question (max. 1 page)
  • Academic CV
  • A complete list of publications
  • A copy of your doctoral degree certificate
  • Letters of recommendation, if available (max. 3)

Please name all the documents as surname_CV.pdfsurname_list_of_publications.pdf … etc.  Only the applications sent through the university application portal and containing the requested attachments in the instructed format will be considered in the recruitment process.

The most promising candidates will be interviewed in person before the final decision.

For more information about the position, please contact Associate Professor Okko Räsänen (firstname.surname@tuni.fi; no umlauts) by email.

For more information on our group activities and recent publications, see https://webpages.tuni.fi/specog/index.html.

About the research environment

Finland is among the most stable, free and safe countries in the world, based on prominent ratings by various agencies. It is also ranked as one of the top countries as far as social progress is concerned. Tampere is the largest inland city of Finland, and the city is counted among the major academic hubs in the Nordic countries, offering a dynamic living environment. Tampere region is one of the most rapidly growing urban areas in Finland and home to a vibrant knowledge-intensive entrepreneurial community. The city is an industrial powerhouse that enjoys a rich cultural scene and a reputation as a centre of Finland’s information society. Despite its growth, living in Tampere is highly affordable for housing. In addition, the excellent public transport network enables quick, easy, and cheap transportation around the city of Tampere and university campuses. Tampere is also surrounded by vivid nature with forests and lakes, providing countless opportunities for easy-to-access outdoor adventures and refreshment throughout the year.

Read more about Finland and Tampere:

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research, Postdoctoral

Apply Online

Check Also

ETH Zurich Postdoctoral Fellowships

Applications have to be supported by an ETH Zurich professor who is willing to act …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Chercheur postdoctoral (technologie de la parole et du langage, sciences cognitives) – Tampere , Finlande

Finlande
Publié il y a 2 ans

L’Université de Tampere et l’Université des sciences appliquées de Tampere créent un environnement unique pour la recherche et l’éducation multidisciplinaires, inspirantes et à fort impact. Notre communauté universitaire a ses avantages concurrentiels dans les domaines de la technologie, de la santé et de la société. www.tuni.fi/en

Le groupe de recherche sur la parole et la cognition (SPECOG) fait partie de l’unité des sciences informatiques de l’Université de Tampere au sein de la faculté des technologies de l’information et des sciences de la communication. SPECOG se concentre sur la recherche interdisciplinaire à l’intersection des technologies de la parole et du langage et des sciences cognitives. Nous combinons des méthodes avancées de traitement du signal et d’apprentissage automatique avec des données infantiles réalistes à grande échelle pour l’étude du développement du langage de l’enfant, mais nous étudions également comment les principes de traitement de l’information de type humain peuvent être appliqués dans les systèmes autonomes d’intelligence artificielle (IA) de nouvelle génération. Le groupe mène également des activités de recherche et développement dans les technologies de la parole et du langage et dans l’apprentissage automatique pour l’analyse des signaux médicaux. SPECOG collabore avec plusieurs groupes de recherche de renommée internationale au sein et au-delà des frontières disciplinaires, y compris des recherches conjointes avec des psychologues, des linguistes, des phonéticiens et des informaticiens.

Description de l’emploi

Nous sollicitons des candidatures pour le poste de chercheur postdoctoral sur le thème de la modélisation informatique du développement du langage chez l’enfant. Le poste est associé à un projet intitulé « Modeling Child Language Development using Naturalistic Data at a Scale (L-SCALE) », où l’objectif est de développer de nouvelles pratiques pour la formation et l’évaluation de modèles informatiques d’apprentissage du langage infantile à l’aide de données infantiles réalistes. Ces données peuvent inclure des enregistrements audio de longue durée centrés sur l’enfant, des transcriptions d’interaction nourrisson-soignant et des méta-analyses menées à travers une gamme d’expériences comportementales. Bien que le travail soit situé en Finlande, le projet met un accent particulier sur la collaboration internationale avec des partenaires clés en Europe et en Amérique du Nord.

Les travaux seront menés en tant que membre du groupe de recherche SPECOG dirigé par le Dr Okko Räsänen. Nous recherchons des candidats qui s’intéressent au traitement du langage humain et/ou machine et qui souhaitent contribuer à nos efforts de recherche interdisciplinaires pour comprendre l’apprentissage des langues chez l’homme par des moyens informatiques.

Dans ce poste, le candidat doit :

1) effectuer des recherches de haute qualité sur la modélisation informatique du développement précoce du langage, en particulier en travaillant sur des protocoles de formation et d’évaluation de modèles écologiquement pertinents en utilisant des données infantiles à grande échelle comme ressource,
2) travailler en étroite collaboration avec d’autres membres du groupe de recherche, dont 1 à 2 doctorants travaillant sur des sujets connexes, et
3) conseiller des projets de recherche de premier cycle / cycles supérieurs et participer à l’enseignement dans votre domaine d’expertise (jusqu’à un total de 15% du temps de travail annuel et sujet à négociation en fonction des intérêts et des intérêts du candidat aspirations de carrières).

Exigences

Le candidat doit être titulaire d’un doctorat (par exemple, PhD ou D.Sc.) en technologie du langage, en psycholinguistique, en sciences cognitives, en informatique ou dans un autre domaine pertinent.

Un candidat retenu possède une solide expertise dans a) la technologie de la parole et/ou du langage ou dans b) la recherche sur le langage des enfants avec des méthodes quantitatives (par exemple, la psychologie du développement, la psycholinguistique, les sciences cognitives). Une programmation courante (Python, Matlab, R ou similaire) et des compétences en anglais sont requises. Une forte motivation pour comprendre les fondements de l’apprentissage et du traitement du langage humain est indispensable. Une expérience de la modélisation informatique, du traitement du langage naturel ou de l’utilisation de la méta-analyse dans la recherche est considérée comme un avantage.

Les candidats potentiels doivent être capables de mener des recherches universitaires indépendantes au plus haut niveau international. La compétence doit être démontrée par plusieurs publications existantes dans des revues et des conférences à comité de lecture internationalement reconnues.

Les candidats doivent également avoir les compétences d’enseignement / de conseil nécessaires pour s’acquitter avec succès des tâches et des fonctions du poste, ou avoir un intérêt à développer leurs compétences en supervision et en pédagogie.

Nous offrons

Le poste sera pourvu pour une durée déterminée de 3 ans. La date de début est négociable, mais ne doit pas être postérieure à octobre 2022. Une période d’essai de 6 mois est appliquée à tous les nouveaux employés.

Le financement du poste consiste en une bourse personnelle et un salaire à temps partiel qui sont comparables à un salaire régulier de 3500–3600€/mois pour les postdocs débutants. Un salaire plus élevé basé sur l’expérience postdoctorale existante et les mérites est négociable. Le poste comprend également des possibilités de mobilité à court terme des chercheurs vers d’autres laboratoires de recherche internationaux. Les frais de déplacement pour présenter des travaux évalués par des pairs lors de grandes conférences internationales sont couverts par défaut. En outre, le poste s’accompagne de nombreux avantages tels que la médecine du travail, des installations sportives sur le campus, des horaires de travail flexibles et plusieurs restaurants et cafés sur le campus avec des réductions pour le personnel. Le travail est associé à 1612 h de temps de travail annuel, ce qui se traduit par env. 6 semaines de jours chômés par an.

comment s’inscrire

Envoyez la candidature via notre portail en ligne (lien ci-dessous).

Veuillez soumettre votre candidature via notre système de recrutement en ligne. La date limite de dépôt des candidatures est  le 17 mars 2022 (à 23h59 EET / UTC+2) . Notez que nous commencerons à examiner les candidatures et que nous pourrons commencer à interviewer certains candidats déjà pendant la période de candidature . Nous nous réservons la possibilité de ne pas pourvoir le poste au cas où un candidat approprié ne serait pas trouvé au cours du processus.

Veuillez rédiger votre candidature et tous les documents d’accompagnement en anglais et les joindre au format PDF . Veuillez joindre les documents suivants à votre candidature :

  • Une lettre de motivation au format libre pour le poste en question (max. 1 page)
  • CV académique
  • Une liste complète des publications
  • Une copie de votre certificat de doctorat
  • Lettres de recommandation, si disponibles (max. 3)

Veuillez nommer tous les documents comme nom_CV.pdf , nom_liste_des_publications.pdf … etc. Seules les candidatures envoyées via le portail de candidature de l’université et contenant les pièces jointes demandées dans le format indiqué seront prises en compte dans le processus de recrutement.

Les candidats les plus prometteurs seront interviewés en personne avant la décision finale.

Pour plus d’informations sur le poste , veuillez contacter le professeur associé Okko Räsänen ( prénom.nom@tuni.fi ; sans trémas) par e-mail.

Pour plus d’informations sur les activités de notre groupe et les publications récentes, consultez https://webpages.tuni.fi/specog/index.html .

À propos de l’environnement de la recherche

La Finlande est l’un des pays les plus stables, les plus libres et les plus sûrs au monde, selon les classements de premier plan de diverses agences. Il est également classé parmi les premiers pays en matière de progrès social. Tampere est la plus grande ville intérieure de Finlande, et la ville compte parmi les principaux centres universitaires des pays nordiques, offrant un cadre de vie dynamique. La région de Tampere est l’une des zones urbaines à la croissance la plus rapide de Finlande et abrite une communauté entrepreneuriale dynamique à forte intensité de connaissances. La ville est une centrale industrielle qui jouit d’une scène culturelle riche et d’une réputation de centre de la société de l’information finlandaise. Malgré sa croissance, vivre à Tampere est très abordable pour le logement. De plus, l’excellent réseau de transport en commun permet des déplacements rapides, faciles, et des transports bon marché autour de la ville de Tampere et des campus universitaires. Tampere est également entourée d’une nature vivante avec des forêts et des lacs, offrant d’innombrables possibilités d’aventures en plein air et de rafraîchissements faciles d’accès tout au long de l’année.

En savoir plus sur la Finlande et Tampere :

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique, Postdoctoral

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Bourses postdoctorales de l’ETH Zurich

Le programme de bourses postdoctorales de l’ETH Zurich (ETH Fellows) soutient les nouveaux chercheurs postdoctoraux …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *