Postdoc (m/f/div) in Molecular Biology – Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research

Germany
Posted 2 years ago

Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research, Cologne, Germany, Department of Chromosome Biology

Group:

Genome Plasticity and Computational Genetics, Korbinian Schneeberger

Starting date:

May 2022 (to be negotiated)

Apply until:

April 30th, 2022

Duration:

Two years

The group of Korbinian Schneeberger, located at the Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research in Cologne, Germany, has opened a postdoc position for a molecular biologist starting from May 2022 (or later) for an initial period of two years.

Working environment

The Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research is surrounded by a beautiful farmland in the northwest of Cologne. The institute is supported by a wide range of service facilities including the Max Planck Genome Centre. The “Genome Plasticity and Computational Genetics” group managed by Korbinian Schneeberger is focused on plant genomics specifically on the development of computational and biotechnological methods for the analysis of genome sequences. Current projects include genetic experiments and the establishment of computational methods for the analysis of multidimensional genome data to study the natural diversity of mutations and recombination.

We are searching for highly motivated applicants with a PhD in molecular biology or a similar field. Applicants should have a profound knowledge in molecular plant biology such as:

Qualification

  • PhD in plant biology
  • Proficient in DNA / RNA extraction and cDNA synthesis
  • Hands-on experiences in standard PCR, RT-PCR, real-time PCR, primer design, gene sequence data analysis
  • Highly proficient in spoken and written English

We are particularly looking for open-minded, creative, self-motivated and critical-minded candidates who like to work in an international team.

Project Description

Genomic changes are one of the major contributors to phenotypic variation. New technologies allow us to analyze which of the changes and to what degree these changes influence phenotypes and thereby drive evolution. The constantly evolving technologies of next-generation sequencing now allow us to decipher genomic changes at highest resolution and thereby help to bridging the gap between genotypes and phenotypes.

Our group analyzes genomic changes on various different levels, we compare species, populations, artificial crosses, and even the genomic differences within individuals. We do this using latest single cell genomic technologies to get insights into the somatic dynamics of genomic changes (including somatic recombination and mutation rates).

The projects include the established of genetic experiments and technologies for the analysis of single-cell genome different to study the natural diversity of mutations and recombination.

Terms of employment

We are a multi-disciplinary group including bioinformaticians, biologists, and biotechnologists (schneebergerlab.org). Our approach to science is curiosity-driven, and is closely aligned to our interests in new genomic technologies. Scientific support comes from a wide range of facilities (genomics, microscopy, high-performance compute clusters) and lab technicians.

Payment and benefits are based on German TVöD Bund.

The Max-Planck Society is committed to increasing the number of individuals with disabilities in its workforce and therefore encourages applications from such qualified individuals. Furthermore, the Max Planck Society seeks to increase the number of women in those areas where they are under­represented and therefore explicitly encourages women to apply.

Have we raised your interest? Please submit your application through our online system. In case of questions, please directly e-mail Korbinian Schneeberger (schneeberger@mpipz.mpg.de).

 

Please apply via recruiter’s website.

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research, Postdoctoral

Apply Online

Check Also

(The Labex GRAL-University of Grenoble) – Call for applications 2024-2025

In the framework of the Chemistry Biology Health (CBH) Graduate School of Université Grenoble Alpes, the Grenoble Alliance for …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Postdoc en biologie moléculaire – Institut Max Planck pour la recherche sur la sélection végétale

Allemagne
Publié il y a 2 ans

Lieu, Institut :

Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research, Cologne, Allemagne, Département de biologie des chromosomes

Grouper:

Plasticité du génome et génétique computationnelle, Korbinian Schneeberger

Date de début:

Mai 2022 (à négocier)

Postulez jusqu’au :

30 avril 2022

Durée:

Deux ans

Le groupe de Korbinian Schneeberger, situé à l’Institut Max Planck pour la recherche sur l’amélioration des plantes à Cologne, en Allemagne, a ouvert un poste de postdoc pour un biologiste moléculaire à partir de mai 2022 (ou plus tard) pour une période initiale de deux ans.

Environnement de travail

L’Institut Max Planck pour la recherche sur la sélection végétale est entouré d’une belle terre agricole au nord-ouest de Cologne. L’institut est soutenu par un large éventail d’installations de services, dont le Max Planck Genome Centre. Le groupe « Genome Plasticity and Computational Genetics » dirigé par Korbinian Schneeberger se concentre sur la génomique végétale et plus particulièrement sur le développement de méthodes computationnelles et biotechnologiques pour l’analyse des séquences du génome. Les projets actuels incluent des expériences génétiques et la mise en place de méthodes informatiques pour l’analyse de données génomiques multidimensionnelles afin d’étudier la diversité naturelle des mutations et des recombinaisons.

Nous recherchons des candidats très motivés titulaires d’un doctorat en biologie moléculaire ou dans un domaine similaire. Les candidats doivent avoir une connaissance approfondie de la biologie moléculaire des plantes telles que :

Qualification

  • Doctorat en biologie végétale
  • Maîtrise de l’extraction d’ADN/ ARN et de la synthèse d’ADNc
  • Expériences pratiques en PCR standard , RT – PCR , PCR en temps réel , conception d’amorces, analyse de données de séquence de gènes
  • Très bonne maîtrise de l’anglais parlé et écrit

Nous recherchons particulièrement des candidats ouverts d’esprit, créatifs, motivés et à l’esprit critique qui aiment travailler dans une équipe internationale.

Description du projet

Les changements génomiques sont l’un des principaux contributeurs à la variation phénotypique. Les nouvelles technologies nous permettent d’analyser lesquels des changements et dans quelle mesure ces changements influencent les phénotypes et conduisent ainsi l’évolution. Les technologies en constante évolution du séquençage de nouvelle génération nous permettent désormais de déchiffrer les changements génomiques à la plus haute résolution et contribuent ainsi à combler le fossé entre les génotypes et les phénotypes.

Notre groupe analyse les changements génomiques à différents niveaux, nous comparons les espèces, les populations, les croisements artificiels, et même les différences génomiques au sein des individus. Pour ce faire, nous utilisons les dernières technologies génomiques unicellulaires pour mieux comprendre la dynamique somatique des changements génomiques (y compris les taux de recombinaison somatique et de mutation).

Les projets comprennent la mise en place d’expériences génétiques et de technologies d’analyse de génomes unicellulaires différents pour étudier la diversité naturelle des mutations et des recombinaisons.

Termes d’emploi

Nous sommes un groupe multidisciplinaire comprenant des bioinformaticiens, des biologistes et des biotechnologues ( schneebergerlab.org ). Notre approche de la science est axée sur la curiosité et est étroitement alignée sur nos intérêts dans les nouvelles technologies génomiques. Le soutien scientifique provient d’un large éventail d’installations (génomique, microscopie, clusters de calcul haute performance) et de techniciens de laboratoire.

Le paiement et les avantages sont basés sur le Bund TVöD allemand.

La société Max-Planck s’engage à augmenter le nombre de personnes handicapées dans son effectif et encourage donc les candidatures de ces personnes qualifiées. De plus, la Max Planck Society cherche à augmenter le nombre de femmes dans les domaines où elles sont sous-représentées et encourage donc explicitement les femmes à postuler.

Avons-nous suscité votre intérêt ? Veuillez soumettre votre candidature via notre  système en ligne . En cas de questions, veuillez envoyer directement un e-mail à Korbinian Schneeberger ( schneeberger@mpipz.mpg.de ).

Veuillez postuler via le site Web du recruteur

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique, Postdoctoral

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Comment Votre Sommeil Peut Révéler Votre Santé : Les Signaux d’Alerte à Surveiller

Votre sommeil est un indicateur précieux de votre état de santé général. Des experts mettent …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *