Sorbonne University – Paris IAS research Chair on “Major Societal Changes”

Rate this post

Impacts and ethical dimensions of environmental transition and artificial intelligence

In partnership with Sorbonne University, the Paris Institute for Advanced Study is offering a 10-month chair or two 5-month chairs for high level international researchers in the humanities and social sciences (HSS) during the academic year 2019-2020.

The Sorbonne University – Paris IAS Chair gives a researcher the possibility to work on an innovative project advancing knowledge on the societal impacts and ethical dimensions of major, global changes, more specifically environmental transition or artificial intelligence. S/he will benefit from the outstanding work conditions and the scientific environment of the Paris IAS, and will collaborate chiefly with Sorbonne University’s research teams and Interdisciplinary Institutes

Deadline for applications: Friday, February 22nd, 2019, 3:00 pm (Paris, CEU time)

Applicants may request either

– a 10-month fellowship from September 1st 2019 to June 30th 2020;

– or a 5-month fellowship from September 1st 2019 to January 31st 2020;

– or a 5-month fellowship from February 1st to June 31st 2020.

THEMES

Societies facing major changes: impacts and ethical dimensions of environmental transition and artificial intelligence

This research chair focused on the humanities and social sciences (HSS) but with an interdisciplinary and cross-sectoral dimension, aims to address two major societal challenges: the environmental transition and the growing importance of digital technologies and artificial intelligence. These challenges will be studied through their impacts (social, economic, political, health…) and the ethical issues they raise.

The notion of environmental transition, beyond environmental changes as such, refers to how societies will be able to position themselves to anticipate these changes, and adapt to them instead of merely undergoing them. The upheavals concern the urban territories, where environmental issues and issues of social justice and governance are closely linked, as much as the rural areas, which participate fully in the overall socio-economic ecosystem of societies. They also strongly affect extreme or “critical” environments, which are very vulnerable, with major consequences for plant or animal species, the economic and cultural pillars of local societies and the “sentinels” of ecosystems, as well as the human activities that take place there.

In this area, the program welcomes all projects with a strong HSS component aiming at improving the understanding of the varied and systemic impacts of environmental changes (on resources, biodiversity, social cohesion, public health, etc.), developing prospective scenarios on the short- and long-term resilience capacities of societies, as well as measuring the ethical issues of human practices and policies (development of evaluation grids and indicators) to reduce the magnitude of the upheavals or allow us to adapt.

Digital technologies and artificial intelligence (AI) are products of a political, social and economic context that favored their emergence and the strong acceleration of their development. In return, they have a major effect on this context: they deeply modify social practices, lifestyles, inter-individual and institutional relations (citizenship and democracy) and have the potential to radically upset the economic organization (forms of work, business models). It has become imperative and urgent to analyze and anticipate the multiple impacts of AI and to think about the conditions that are necessary for its regulation, taking into account the ethical dimensions of innovative practices and ideas, as well as those of mechanisms of management and support of innovation, beyond mere technological opportunities.

These questions call for transdisciplinary and intersectoral approaches, better able to grasp the entanglement of the social, legal, economic, political, technical and philosophical logics involved in this technological upheaval. Proposed projects should take into account the complexity and systemic nature of the phenomena studied and aim at both building new knowledge on AI and providing society with instruments to control the rapid changes it produces.

On each of the two main themes mentioned above, the goal of the Sorbonne University – Paris IAS Chair on “Major Societal Changes” is to provide society with knowledge and solutions that are useful for taking action, while questioning the boundary between basic and applied research. It promotes participatory approaches in which social actors (ordinary citizens, public institutions, economic actors, NGOs) are considered as partners in research, because of the relevance of their knowledge -be it traditional, hybrid or technical- for the construction of research objects and methodologies, but also with a view to empower citizens to better understand the challenges and act upon them.

Research on the societal impacts of major changes should therefore also be an opportunity to reflect on the impacts of research itself, including the acceptability of change by citizens and the implementation of accompanying and regulatory policies (nudges and legislations) by territorial, state or transnational institutions.

The Chair offers international researchers in HSS a 10-month research fellowship at the Paris Institute for Advanced Study, in order to develop innovative research in conjunction with the Sorbonne University laboratories and more generally with the scientific and economic fabric of the Paris area, one of the densest in Europe. The stay at the IEA guarantees the constitution of scientific collaborations of excellence and academic visibility of the results obtained.

SCIENTIFIC ACTIVITIES

During the stay, the holder of the Chair is expected to give lectures as well as to organize an international interdisciplinary conference in Paris on themes related to the research project, in collaboration with the research teams and Interdisciplinary Institutes at Sorbonne Université.

S/he will also have the possibility to convene smaller meetings and invite researchers for short stays at the Paris IAS to contribute to the research project, give lectures, etc. In addition, s/he will benefit from the help of the institute to set up innovative mechanisms to enable citizens to participate in research and to disseminate the results.

At the end of the fellowship, the holder of the Chair must write at least one research report which will be made public.

CONDITIONS OF ELIGIBILITY

Researchers from all countries are eligible.

Applicants who have spent more than a total of 12 months in France during the 3 years prior to the application are not eligible.

This call for applications is open to:

– Senior university professors or researchers holding a position in a university or research institution or emeritus and having a minimum of 10 years of full time research experience after their PhD (at the time of the application). To be considered a senior, the applicant must have received her/his PhD before January 1st 2009.

– Junior scholars having the status of postdoctoral researcher or holding a position in a university or research institution, and having a minimum of 2 and maximum of 9 years of research experience after the PhD. To be eligible and considered a junior, the applicant must have received her/his PhD between January 1st 2009 and January 1st 2017.

The institute is bilingual. Knowledge of English is required. The applicants are also expected to understand written and spoken French, as scientific and social activities are held in French and English.


CRITERIA OF SELECTION

The main criteria of selection are:

  • the scientific excellence of the project and its innovative character;
  • the transdisciplinary and intersectoral potential of the research;
  • the career path of the applicant;
  • the quality of the scientific contacts of the applicant in France, and the applicant’s capacity to collaborate with colleagues from Sorbonne University.

We advise the applicants to state explicitly why their project is innovative, and what its potential impacts in other disciplines and sectors are.

THE APPLICATION

The application, in English, must be submitted via an online application system (https://paris-iea.fr/). Paper or e-mail applications are not accepted.

The application consists of the following items:

  • the completed application form;
  • a curriculum vitae (10 pages maximum) including a list of publications and a list of the 5 publications considered as most important by the applicant;
  • a detailed research proposal (25 000 characters maximum, spaces included. This count does not include the bibliography). The proposal should include :
    • theme
    • state of the art in the field, innovative character of the proposal
    • theoretical  framework and methodology
    • expected outcomes and impact
    • work planning, timescales
    • existing or planned scientific cooperation and contacts in Sorbonne University and in France
    • bibliography (books and articles cited);
  • two summaries of the research project (1500 characters maximum for each, spaces included): one for an audience of specialists of the field of research, and one for non-specialists;
  • a letter of cooperation with one or more research teams of Sorbonne University, signed by a member of the team. The letter must state the nature of the planned collaboration;
  • a list of four topics (two of them at least related to the theme of the research proposal) on which the applicant could give a lecture during the fellowship;
  • in the case of Junior Fellows (2 to 9 years after the PhD at the time of the application), two letters of recommendation;

CALENDAR

Application deadline: Friday, February 22nd 2019, 3:00 pm (Paris, France time)

Preselection: Beginning of March 2019

Final selection and notification of results: May 2019

Starting dates of the chair:

            – September 1st 2019 for a 10-month chair

            – September 1st 2019 or February 1st 2020 for a 5-month chair

CONDITIONS OF STAY

The holder of the Sorbonne University – Paris IAS Chair on “Major Societal Changes” benefits from all the advantages the Paris IAS provides its fellows, among which housing in Paris, a monthly remuneration (or complement of remuneration) and the payment of the round-trip ticket to Paris.

Housing

The Paris IAS provides apartments in the Pavillon Victor Lyon at the Cité internationale universitaire de Paris. This building, entirely refurbished, offers 2- to 5-room apartments, a conference room and other services. Depending on the availability of the apartments at the pavillon, other housing options might be offered to the successful applicants.

Status and remuneration

The holder of the Chair who maintains a status in her/his home institution benefits from a stipend. When it is not the case, the Paris IAS proposes a short term research contract with salary. In all cases, the remuneration depends on the researcher’s personal and professional situation and on whether s/he continues to receive pay from her/his home institution. The benchmark pay scale corresponds to prevailing standards in French academia.

Travel

Travel costs from the fellow’s home to Paris and back are covered by the IAS (economy class).

Support for research

During their stay, the chairholders will have an office with a computer, Internet access, and printer in the premises of the Paris IAS, in the 17th Century historical monument Hôtel de Lauzun. The IAS also provides meeting and conference rooms.

The researcher may receive financial support for her/his work and scientific activities. This includes the organization of events (colloquia, seminars, lectures, etc.), doctoral training, intersectoral workshop and short term invitations of researchers to the IAS. Help for the translation and publication of their research texts can also be proposed.

The Paris IAS and its partner institutions have signed agreements enabling the researcher to enjoy special access and borrowing privileges in the main Paris university-based research libraries. In addition, s/he can have most books and documents delivered directly from the libraries to the institute.

For additional information:

About the Paris IAS: https://www.paris-iea.fr

About Sorbonne University: http://www.sorbonne-universite.fr/

Contact address for this call: candidature@paris-iea.fr

Leave a Reply

Add Comment

three + 1 =

Chaire “Changement sociétaux majeurs”: Impacts de la transition environnementale et de l’intelligence artificielle

En partenariat avec l’Université de la Sorbonne , l’ Institut d’études supérieures de Paris propose une chaire de 10 ou deux chaires de 5 mois à des chercheurs internationaux de haut niveau en sciences humaines au cours de l’année universitaire 2019-2020.

La chaire IAS de l’Université Sorbonne – Paris donne à un chercheur la possibilité de travailler sur un projet innovant faisant progresser les connaissances sur les impacts sociétaux et les dimensions éthiques des grands changements mondiaux, plus particulièrement de la transition environnementale ou de l’intelligence artificielle. Il / elle bénéficiera des conditions de travail et de l’environnement scientifique exceptionnels de l’IAS de Paris et collaborera principalement avec les équipes de recherche et les instituts interdisciplinaires de l’ Université de la Sorbonne.

Date limite pour les demandes: Vendredi, 22 Février e , 2019, 15h00 (Paris, le temps CEU)

Les candidats peuvent demander soit

– une bourse de 10 mois à partir du 1er Septembre er 2019-30 Juin e 2020;

– ou une bourse de 5 mois à partir du 1er Septembre er 2019-31 Janvier er 2020;

– ou une bourse de 5 mois à partir du 1er Février er au 31 Juin er 2020.

THÈMES

Les sociétés confrontées à des changements majeurs: impacts et dimensions éthiques de la transition environnementale et de l’intelligence artificielle

Cette chaire de recherche axée sur les sciences humaines et sociales, mais avec une dimension interdisciplinaire et intersectorielle, vise à relever deux défis sociétaux majeurs: la transition environnementale et l’importance croissante des technologies numériques et de l’intelligence artificielle. Ces défis seront étudiés à travers leurs impacts (sociaux, économiques, politiques, santé…) et les enjeux éthiques qu’ils soulèvent.

La notion de transition environnementale , au-delà des changements environnementaux en tant que tels, fait référence à la manière dont les sociétés pourront se positionner pour anticiper ces changements et s’y adapter au lieu de les subir simplement. Les bouleversements concernent les territoires urbains, où les questions environnementales et les questions de justice sociale et de gouvernance sont étroitement liées, de même que les zones rurales, qui participent pleinement à l’écosystème socio-économique global des sociétés. Ils affectent également fortement les environnements extrêmes ou «critiques», qui sont très vulnérables, avec des conséquences majeures pour les espèces végétales ou animales, les piliers économiques et culturels des sociétés locales et les «sentinelles» des écosystèmes, ainsi que pour les activités humaines qui se déroulent. Là.

Dans ce domaine, le programme accueille tous les projets à forte composante RSS visant à améliorer la compréhension des impacts variés et systémiques des changements environnementaux (sur les ressources, la biodiversité, la cohésion sociale, la santé publique, etc.), en développant des scénarios prospectifs à court terme. – et les capacités de résilience à long terme des sociétés, ainsi que la mesure des problèmes éthiques posés par les pratiques et les politiques humaines (développement de grilles d’évaluation et d’indicateurs) afin de réduire l’ampleur des bouleversements ou de nous adapter.

Les technologies numériques et l’intelligence artificielle (IA) sont le produit d’un contexte politique, social et économique qui a favorisé leur émergence et la forte accélération de leur développement. En retour, ils ont un effet majeur sur ce contexte: ils modifient profondément les pratiques sociales, les modes de vie, les relations interindividuelles et institutionnelles (citoyenneté et démocratie) et peuvent bouleverser radicalement l’organisation économique (formes de travail, modèles économiques). Il est devenu impératif et urgent d’analyser et d’anticiper les multiples impacts de l’intelligence artificielle et de réfléchir aux conditions nécessaires à sa régulation, en tenant compte des dimensions éthiques des pratiques et idées innovantes, ainsi que de celles des mécanismes de gestion et de soutien. d’innovation, au-delà des simples opportunités technologiques.

Ces questions appellent des approches transdisciplinaires et intersectorielles, mieux à même de saisir l’enchevêtrement des logiques sociales, juridiques, économiques, politiques, techniques et philosophiques impliquées dans ce bouleversement technologique. Les projets proposés doivent tenir compte de la complexité et de la nature systémique des phénomènes étudiés et viser à la fois à acquérir de nouvelles connaissances sur l’IA et à fournir à la société des instruments permettant de contrôler les changements rapides qu’elle engendre.

Sur chacun des deux thèmes principaux mentionnés ci-dessus, la Chaire IAS “” Principaux changements sociétaux “de l’Université Paris de la Sorbonne – Paris a pour objectif de fournir à la société des connaissances et des solutions utiles pour agir, tout en remettant en question la frontière entre recherche fondamentale et recherche appliquée. . Il favorise les approches participatives dans lesquelles les acteurs sociaux (citoyens ordinaires, institutions publiques, acteurs économiques, ONG) sont considérés comme des partenaires de la recherche, en raison de la pertinence de leurs connaissances – qu’elles soient traditionnelles, hybrides ou techniques – pour la construction d’objets de recherche méthodologies, mais aussi dans le but de donner aux citoyens les moyens de mieux comprendre les défis et d’agir en conséquence.

La recherche sur les impacts sociétaux de changements majeurs devrait donc également être une occasion de réfléchir aux impacts de la recherche elle-même, y compris l’acceptabilité du changement par les citoyens et la mise en œuvre de politiques d’accompagnement et de réglementation (incitations et législations) par les institutions territoriales, étatiques ou transnationales. .

La chaire propose aux chercheurs internationaux en SHS une bourse de recherche de 10 mois à l’Institut d’études avancées de Paris, afin de développer des recherches innovantes en collaboration avec les laboratoires de l’Université de la Sorbonne et plus généralement avec le tissu scientifique et économique de la région parisienne. le plus dense d’Europe. Le séjour à l’AIE garantit la constitution de collaborations scientifiques d’excellence et la visibilité académique des résultats obtenus.

ACTIVITES SCIENTIFIQUES

Au cours de son séjour, le titulaire de la chaire devrait donner des conférences et organiser à Paris une conférence internationale interdisciplinaire sur des thèmes liés au projet de recherche, en collaboration avec les équipes de rechercheet les instituts interdisciplinaires de la Sorbonne Université.

Il aura également la possibilité de convoquer de plus petites réunions et d’inviter des chercheurs séjournant à l’IAS de Paris pour des séjours de courte durée. Ils pourront également participer au projet de recherche, donner des conférences, etc. En outre, il bénéficiera de l’aide de l’institut pour mettre en place des mécanismes innovants permettant aux citoyens de participer à la recherche et de diffuser les résultats.

À la fin de la bourse, le titulaire de la chaire doit rédiger au moins un rapport de recherche qui sera rendu public.

CONDITIONS D’ELIGIBILITE

Les chercheurs de tous les pays sont éligibles.

Les candidats qui ont passé plus de 12 mois en France au cours des 3 années précédant la candidature ne sont pas éligibles.

Cet appel à candidatures est ouvert aux:

– Professeurs d’université ou chercheurs occupant un poste dans une université, un institut de recherche ou un émérite et ayant au moins 10 années d’expérience à plein temps dans le domaine de la recherche après leur doctorat (au moment de la candidature). Pour être considéré comme un senior, le candidat doit avoir obtenu son doctorat avant le 1 er janvier 2009.

– jeunes boursiers ayant le statut de chercheur postdoctoral ou qui occupent un poste dans une université ou un établissement de recherche et qui cumulent au moins 2 et au plus 9 années d’expérience en recherche après le doctorat. Pour être éligible et considéré comme junior, le candidat doit avoir obtenu son doctorat entre le 1 er janvier 2009 et le 1 erjanvier 2017.

L’institut est bilingue. La connaissance de l’anglais est requise. Les candidats doivent également comprendre le français écrit et parlé, les activités scientifiques et sociales se déroulant en français et en anglais.

 

Critères de sélection

Les principaux critères de sélection sont:

  • l’excellence scientifique du projet et son caractère innovant;
  • le potentiel transdisciplinaire et intersectoriel de la recherche;
  • le cheminement de carrière du candidat;
  • la qualité des contacts scientifiques du demandeur en France et sa capacité à collaborer avec des collègues de l’Université de la Sorbonne.

Nous conseillons aux candidats d’indiquer explicitement pourquoi leur projet est innovant et quels sont ses impacts potentiels sur d’autres disciplines et secteurs.

L’APPLICATION

La candidature, en anglais, doit être soumise via un système de candidature en ligne https://paris-iea.fr/ ) . Les applications papier ou électroniques ne sont pas acceptées.

L’application comprend les éléments suivants:

  • le formulaire de demande rempli;
  • un curriculum vitae (10 pages maximum) comprenant une liste de publications et une liste des 5 publications considérées comme les plus importantes par le candidat;
  • une proposition de recherche détaillée (maximum 25 000 caractères, espaces compris. Ce décompte n’inclut pas la bibliographie). La proposition devrait inclure:
    • thème
    • état de l’art sur le terrain, caractère innovant de la proposition
    • cadre théorique et méthodologie
    • résultats attendus et impact
    • planification du travail, délais
    • coopération scientifique existante ou à venir et contacts à l’Université de la Sorbonne et en France
    • bibliographie (livres et articles cités);
  • deux résumés du projet de recherche (1 500 caractères au maximum pour chacun, espaces compris): un pour un public de spécialistes du domaine de la recherche et un pour les non-spécialistes;
  • une lettre de coopération avec une ou plusieurs équipes de recherche de l’Université de la Sorbonne, signée par un membre de l’équipe. La lettre doit préciser la nature de la collaboration prévue.
  • une liste de quatre sujets (deux au moins liés au thème de la proposition de recherche) sur lesquels le candidat pourrait donner une conférence au cours de la bourse;
  • dans le cas des Junior Fellows (2 à 9 ans après le doctorat au moment de la candidature), deux lettres de recommandation;

CALENDRIER

Date limite d’inscription: le vendredi 22 Février e 2019, 15h00 (Paris, France temps)

Présélection: début mars 2019

Sélection finale et notification des résultats: mai 2019

Dates de début de la chaire:

            – 1 er septembre 2019 pour une chaire de 10 mois

            – 1 er septembre 2019 ou 1 er février 2020 pour une présidence de 5 mois

CONDITIONS DE SEJOUR

Le titulaire de la Chaire IAS IAS «Importantes mutations sociétales» de l’Université Sorbonne à Paris bénéficie de tous les avantages offerts par l’IAS Paris à ses boursiers, parmi lesquels le logement à Paris, une rémunération mensuelle (ou complément de rémunération) et le paiement du tour de table. billet de voyage à Paris.

Logement

L’IAS de Paris propose des appartements dans le Pavillon Victor Lyon de la Cité internationale universitaire de Paris. Ce bâtiment, entièrement rénové, propose des appartements de 2 à 5 pièces, une salle de conférence et d’autres services. Selon la disponibilité des appartements au pavillon, d’autres options de logement pourraient être proposées aux candidats retenus.

Statut et rémunération

Le titulaire de la chaire qui conserve un statut dans son institution d’origine bénéficie d’une allocation. Lorsque ce n’est pas le cas, l’IAS de Paris propose un contrat de recherche à court terme avec salaire. Dans tous les cas, la rémunération dépend de la situation personnelle et professionnelle du chercheur et du fait qu’il / elle continue de recevoir une rémunération de son institution d’origine. L’échelle de salaire de référence correspond aux normes en vigueur dans les universités françaises.

Voyage

Les frais de voyage du domicile du boursier à Paris et retour sont couverts par l’IAS (classe économique).

Soutien à la recherche

Pendant leur séjour, les titulaires de chaire disposeront d’un bureau avec ordinateur, accès Internet et imprimante dans les locaux de l’IAS de Paris, au XVIIe siècle, classé monument historique, Hôtel de Lauzun. L’IAS fournit également des salles de réunion et de conférence.

Le chercheur peut recevoir un soutien financier pour son travail et ses activités scientifiques. Cela comprend l’organisation d’événements (colloques, séminaires, conférences, etc.), la formation doctorale, les ateliers intersectoriels et les invitations à court terme de chercheurs à l’IAS. Une aide à la traduction et à la publication de leurs textes de recherche peut également être proposée.

L’IAS de Paris et ses institutions partenaires ont signé des accords permettant au chercheur de bénéficier d’un accès privilégié et de privilèges d’emprunt dans les principales bibliothèques de recherche des universités parisiennes. En outre, il peut faire livrer la plupart des livres et documents directement des bibliothèques à l’institut.

Pour plus d’informations:

À propos de l’IAS de Paris: https://www.paris-iea.fr

About Sorbonne University: http://www.sorbonne-universite.fr/

Adresse de contact pour cet appel: candidature@paris-iea.fr

Leave a Reply

Add Comment

7 + 7 =

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.