Assistant Professor of Biology (Microbiology) – Bowie State University

UNITED STATES
Posted 2 years ago

Responsibilities: The Department of Natural Sciences is seeking excellent candidates for a tenure track position for the Assistant Professor Rank in Biology (Microbiology). The successful candidate will provide instruction to undergraduate students in Introductory and advanced Biology and Microbiology courses, as well as upper-level elective(s) courses. The candidate will establish a productive and vibrant student-based research program in the area of Biology/Microbiology, and will contribute to scholarly activities, while actively contributing to student advisement and mentorship of undergraduate research activities. Candidate must be ready to be an active participant in departmental and University-wide committees. Our student-focused department requires a candidate with strong commitment to excellence in teaching and coordination, as well as a great appreciation for experiential learning to support our current models for high-impact practice in undergraduate STEM education. The candidate should:

    • Provide instruction in Biology/Microbiology courses and related advanced level electives with a strong commitment to curriculum transformation and excellence in teaching.
    • Establish a productive, student-centered, undergraduate research program in the area of biology, microbiology, with an emphasis on research tools development. Incorporate experiential learning activities into research program.
    • Be an active participant in scholarly activities, advisement, and mentorship of students, with active service on committees.

Qualifications:  Ph.D. in Microbiology or related field(s) required. Postdoctoral fellowship experience in Microbiology. Experience teaching Introductory as well as advanced Biology/Microbiology courses in the field, is preferred. Strong research profile in Biology, with a focus on Microbiology and related fields. Excellence in Biology/Microbiology research, as shown by quality publications and articles in the top journals. Excellent communication and interpersonal skills, and demonstrated ability to work in teams. Evidence of strong commitment to excellence in teaching, technology application in the classroom, and capable of establishing collaborative research programs involving undergraduate students. Evidence of experience spearheading or participating in experiential learning models a plus. Experience working with various stakeholders, such as students, faculty, staff, and administrators. Experience working with underrepresented minorities in STEM. Experience in obtaining funded grants is preferred. Strong candidates will be a team player, possess leadership potential, and have experience with minorities in STEM.

Condition of Employment: Offer of employment is contingent upon successful completion of due diligence background check and verification of credentials. Proof of US citizenship or eligibility for U.S. employment will be required prior to employment (Immigration Control Act of 1986). Please be advised, COVID-19 vaccinations, or appropriate exemptions, are required for faculty and staff to be employed at Bowie State University.

APPLICATIONInterested and qualified applicants should go to https://bowiestate.peopleadmin.com/ to apply online. Paper application submissions will not be considered.

Office of Human Resources

Bowie State University

14000 Jericho Park Road

Bowie, MD 20715

 

Bowie State University is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer

 

Auxiliary aids and services for individuals with disabilities are available upon request. Please contact the University’s EEO Officer at 301-860-3442.

In accordance with the Cleary Act of 2000, you are advised to contact the Bowie State University Campus Police Office for Disclosure of Criminal Incidents that occur on our campus.

Please apply via recruiter’s website.

Job Features

Job CategoryTeaching and scientific research

Apply Online

Check Also

The Benefits of Physical Exercise for Hypertension Patients: Morning or Evening?

Introduction Hypertension, a chronic condition characterized by high blood pressure, is a leading cause of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Professeur adjoint de biologie (microbiologie) – Université d’État de Bowie, États-Unis

Etats-Unis
Publié il y a 2 ans

Responsabilités :  Le Département des sciences naturelles est à la recherche d’excellents candidats pour un poste menant à la permanence au rang de  professeur adjoint en biologie (microbiologie). Le candidat retenu fournira aux étudiants de premier cycle des cours d’introduction et de perfectionnement en biologie et microbiologie, ainsi que des cours optionnels de niveau supérieur. Le candidat établira un programme de recherche étudiant productif et dynamique dans le domaine de la biologie / microbiologie et contribuera aux activités savantes, tout en contribuant activement au conseil des étudiants et au mentorat des activités de recherche de premier cycle. Le candidat doit être prêt à participer activement aux comités départementaux et universitaires. Notre département axé sur les étudiants nécessite un candidat avec un engagement fort envers l’excellence dans l’enseignement et la coordination, ainsi qu’une grande appréciation de l’apprentissage expérientiel pour soutenir nos modèles actuels de pratique à fort impact dans l’enseignement STEM de premier cycle. Le candidat doit :

    • Fournir un enseignement dans les cours de biologie / microbiologie et les cours optionnels de niveau avancé connexes avec un engagement fort envers la transformation du programme et l’excellence dans l’enseignement.
    • Établir un programme de recherche de premier cycle productif et centré sur l’étudiant dans le domaine de la biologie, de la microbiologie, en mettant l’accent sur le développement d’outils de recherche. Incorporer des activités d’apprentissage par l’expérience dans le programme de recherche.
    • Être un participant actif aux activités savantes, au conseil et au mentorat des étudiants, avec un service actif au sein des comités.

Qualifications: doctorat en microbiologie ou domaine(s) connexe(s) requis. Expérience postdoctorale en microbiologie. Une expérience dans l’enseignement de cours d’introduction ainsi que de cours avancés de biologie / microbiologie dans le domaine est préférable. Profil de recherche solide en biologie, avec un accent sur la microbiologie et les domaines connexes. Excellence dans la recherche en biologie/microbiologie, comme en témoignent des publications et des articles de qualité dans les meilleures revues. Excellentes compétences en communication et en relations interpersonnelles, et capacité démontrée à travailler en équipe. Preuve d’un engagement fort envers l’excellence dans l’enseignement, l’application de la technologie en classe et la capacité d’établir des programmes de recherche collaborative impliquant des étudiants de premier cycle. Preuve d’expérience dans la direction ou la participation à des modèles d’apprentissage par l’expérience, un atout. Expérience de travail avec divers intervenants, tels que des étudiants, professeurs, personnel et administrateurs. Expérience de travail avec des minorités sous-représentées dans les STEM. Une expérience dans l’obtention de subventions financées est préférable. Les candidats solides seront un joueur d’équipe, posséderont un potentiel de leadership et auront de l’expérience avec les minorités en STEM.

Condition d’emploi : L’offre d’emploi est subordonnée à la réussite de la vérification préalable des antécédents et de la vérification des titres de compétences. Une preuve de citoyenneté américaine ou d’admissibilité à un emploi aux États-Unis sera exigée avant l’embauche (Immigration Control Act de 1986). Veuillez noter que les vaccinations contre le COVID-19 ou les exemptions appropriées sont requises pour les professeurs et le personnel devant être employés à la Bowie State University.

CANDIDATURE :  Les candidats intéressés et qualifiés doivent se rendre sur https://bowiestate.peopleadmin.com/ pour postuler en ligne. Les candidatures papier ne seront pas prises en compte.

Bureau des ressources humaines

Université d’État de Bowie

14000, chemin du parc Jéricho

Bowie, MD 20715

 

Bowie State University est un employeur d’égalité des chances / d’action positive

 

Des aides auxiliaires et des services pour les personnes handicapées sont disponibles sur demande. Veuillez contacter l’ agent EEO de l’Université au 301-860-3442 .

Conformément à la loi Cleary de 2000, il vous est conseillé de contacter le bureau de police du campus de l’Université d’État de Bowie pour la divulgation des incidents criminels qui se produisent sur notre campus.

Veuillez postuler via le site Web du recruteur.

Caractéristiques de l'emploi

Catégorie emploiEnseignement et recherche scientifique

Postuler en ligne

Check Also

Bourse Eric Bleumink pour les pays en développement à l’Université de Groningue – Pays-Bas

L’Université de Groningue offre des bourses de recherche à des étudiants de pays en développement …

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *